From September 25 to 27, 2023





at IIT Mandi


Please download the Abstract Booklet from here

REGISTER HERE (Scroll Down for Registration Details)



 About the Workshop

We welcome you to the “CO2-India Network 2nd Annual Meet” along with the conference on “Catalysis for Energy, Environment and Sustainability”. As many may be aware that this network was formed in 2021 to develop an integrated platform of scientists, academicians and researchers working in the area of CO2 mitigation by capture-conversion towards a bigger goal to address the issue of climate change, and bringing in them together on a regular basis to meet in-person for exchange of knowledge/ideas toward this noble goal.

The continuous releases of anthropogenic CO2 in the atmosphere for decades led to the subsequent rise in the global temperature in an alarming way. To battle against this long-term effect of CO2, the United Nations’ Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (Paris Agreement) indicates that crossing the 1.5°C threshold risks the severe impact in climate change, droughts, heat-waves as well as rainfall. The natural carbon cycle is unable to incorporate this large CO2 release in its chain of carbon recycling. Thus, it is crucial to find a solution towards sustainable utilization of this CO2 to useful “carbon feedstock” at minimal cost through a well-accepted technology.

The first “CO2-India Network Annual Meet” was held on November, 2022 at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai. It was a successful event where very fruitful discussions between scientists and researchers along with representatives from industries took place. The brainstorming between them led to the conclusion that such kind of meeting is need of an hour. With this consensus, it has been decided to hold the second “CO2-India Network 2nd Annual Meet” at the Indian Institute of Technology Mandi from Sept. 25 to 27, 2023.

Along with this meeting, a conference on “Catalysis for Energy, Environment and Sustainability” has also been arranged. The aim of this meeting and the conference will be to discuss the persistent issues related to “Sustainable Development Goals” defined by the United Nations.


1. CO2 capture-conversion

2. Green hydrogen

3. Nanomaterials for energy conversion and storage

4. Energy storage devices; supercapacitor and battery

5. Photocatalysis/Photoelectrocatalysis for Energy conversion

6. Advanced Characterization for Catalysis

7. Green synthesis in Catalysis

8. Theories in for Energy Applications

9. Electrosynthesis in energy domain

10. Role of Industry in Indian Catalysis Research


Registration Fees

Registration Account Details (Dropdown)

Account Name: CCE, IIT Mandi

Bank Name: Punjab National Bank

Account Number: 7315000100034369

IFSC Code: PUNB0731500


Branch Name: IIT Kamand, Mandi, H.P. (175075)

Note: Kindly share the details of registration with the email id "" after your registration

Note: 1. Registration Fee Includes Accommodation for the conference days, Lunches, Dinner, Snacks, Tea, and     Registration kit.

2. Travel has to be self-arranged.

 For students and postdocs, shared accommodations will be provided.

Accommodation: Accommodation will be given into IIT Mandi guest house, link is given below:


Prof. Laxmidhar Behera

Patron, IIT Mandi

Dr. Aditi Halder

IIT Mandi


Dr. Rik Rani Koner

IIT Mandi


Prof. Venkata Krishnan

IIT Mandi


Prof. Vivek Polshettiwar

TIFR Mumbai



CO2 India Core Committee:

Prof. Abinaya Sampath (IIT Gandhinagar)

Dr. Aditi Halder (IIT Mandi)

Prof. Ali Haider (IIT Delhi)

Dr. Ankur Borodoloi (IIP Dehradun)

Prof. Arindam Sarkar (IIT Bombay)

Prof. Arnab Dutta (IIT Bombay)

Prof. Atul Wankhede (VNIT Nagpur)

Prof. Ayan Datta (IACS Kolkata) 

Prof. Biswajit Chowdhury (IIT-ISM Dhanbad)

Prof. Biswarup Pathak (IIT Indore)

Dr. Chanchal Samant (BPCL)

Prof. Chinmoy Ranjan (IISc Bangalore)

Dr. Chiranjeevi Thota (BPCL)

Prof. CM Nagaraja (IIT Ropar)

Prof. Gulzar A Bhat (University of Kashmir)

Dr. Indrajit Shown (HIST)

Prof. Jayant Singh (IIT Kanpur)

Prof. Jitendra Bera (IIT Kanpur)

Prof. Jyoti Phirani (IIT Delhi)

Kapil Bansal (GasGrows Solutions Pvt. Ltd.)

Dr. Mrinal R. Pai (BARC Mumbai)

Prof. Murthy Dharmapura (MIT Manipal)

Dr. Nandini Devi (NCL Pune)

Dr. Pravin Kumar Chinthala (Reliance Industries)

Prof. Rajanish Kumar (IIT Madras)

Prof. Sanjay K Singh (IIT Indore)

Prof. Sanjib Banerjee (IIT Bhilai)

Dr. Sharad Lande (Reliance Industries)

Dr. Soujanya Yarasi (IICT Hyderabad)

Dr. Sreekumar Kurungot (NCL Pune)

Prof. Sudhanshu Sharma (IITGN)   

Dr. Sukhendu Nath (BARC, Mumbai)

Prof. Sumit Kumar (IIT Guwahati)

Prof. Sunil Patil (IISER Mohali)

Prof. Swadhin Mandal (IISER Kolkata)

Prof. Tapas Maji (JNCASR Bangalore)

Prof. Tharamani C. N. (IIT Ropar)

Prof. Venkata Krishnan (IIT Mandi)

Prof. Vikram Vishal (IIT Bombay)

Prof. Vivek Polshettiwar (TIFR Mumbai)


IIT Mandi