Shining Star Wall of Recognition

To mark the 25th Anniversary of Coal Bowl in 2006, the Coal Bowl Board of Directors established a Wall of Recognition to honour those who, over the years, had made an outstanding contribution to the New Waterford Coal Bowl Classic.

This Wall is located in the gymnasia entrance and is designed to house the prestigious «Shining Star Awards», one of which has been awarded each year, beginning with Coal Bowl 2006. The following are the recipients to date:

  • 2006 Saint Anthony Daniel Council 3209 Knights of Columbus

  • 2007 New Waterford Credit Union

  • 2008 Nova Scotia Power Inc

  • 2009 Gerard Ferguson and Manulife Financial

  • 2010 Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board

  • 2011 New Waterford Coal Bowl Classic Volunteers

  • 2012 Lorraine Sheppard

  • 2013 Lloyd MacLeod and CBRM East Division Parks and Grounds New Waterford

  • 2014 New Waterford Coal Bowl Classic Referees

  • 2015 Ray J. MacLellan-Crew Productions

  • 2016 The Community of New Waterford

  • 2018 Bell Aliant

  • 2019 Rotary Club of New Waterford

  • 2020 Jacqueline Poirier

Coal Bowl 2020 marks the 38th year of this outstanding, one of a kind, national event. The New Waterford Coal Bowl Classic Board of Directors is very proud to announce that the 2020 recipient of the “Shining Star Award” will be announced at the Opening Ceremonies.