AHS Hospitality and Tourism SHSM

What certifications do you need? How do you get them?

Business SHSM students at FFHS will be able to gain their 4 compulsory and 2 elective certifications with training offered through the school SHSM program, with costs covered for training arranged by the school. Some students may have completed training elsewhere that they can apply to their SHSM.

Four Compulsory Certifications:

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Level C - includes automated external defibrillation (AED)

customer service

Standard First Aid

Workplace Hazardous Material Information System (WHMIS) - generic (i.e., not site-specific) instruction

Two Electives - from the list below:

  • advanced training in a technique (e.g., paddling)
  • cash handling and register training
  • ccompass/map/global positioning system (GPS)
  • cook/line cook
  • dietary considerations
  • event coordination
  • fire safety and fire extinguisher use
  • fishing guide
  • Food Handler Certification
  • geographic information system (GIS)
  • guest services
  • heritage interpreter
  • housekeeping services
  • introduction to hospitality management
  • leadership skills
  • life-saving (Bronze Cross or higher)
  • portfolio development
  • project management
  • safe food handling – basic
  • Smart Serve
  • spa etiquette
  • spa service
  • ticket agent
  • tour guide
  • tourism – basic
  • wilderness first aid
  • wilderness survival