Welcome to the 2nd NCTS/UCAT/NTHU International Astronomy Winter School, jointly organised by National Center of Theoretical Sciences (NCTS), the University Consortium of ALMA-Taiwan (UCAT), and National Tsing Hua University, Institute of Astronomy (NTHU), to be held in early 2023. The school will be on Magnetism in Star-Forming and Galactic Environments, covering topics in interstellar magnetic fields, star-formation, galactic and extra-galactic magnetism and cosmic ray propagation.

The winter school will include five primary lecture series, two keynote lectures and six highlight science talks from leading international and local experts over the course of 1 week. The school will be of a hybrid format; open to both on-line attendees and on-site participants at the NCTS Headquarters, in the National Taiwan University C.C. Leung Cosmology Hall, Taipei.

Registration is required. There is limited travel and lodging support for junior participants.

Aims & Scope

The School aims to present a broad overview and highlight recent progress in the field of astrophysical magnetism. We hope the School will bring together students, early-career researchers, and leading experts in the magnetic field community for discussion, exchange of ideas and collaboration.

The programme will cover a broad, forward-looking introduction of a range of topics relating to astrophysical magnetic fields, including star-formation, cosmic rays, fast radio bursts, galaxy evolution and the interstellar medium. The lecture series and highlight science talks will cover aspects ranging from theory and simulation to instrumentation and observation.


Registration is now open until December 30th, 2022.

For enquiries, please contact the Helpdesk at 2022winterschool@gmail.com

Organising Committee

Organising Committee:

Dr. Alvina Y. L. On (NCTS/NTHU) - Chair

Dr. Ellis R. Owen (Osaka University/NTHU) - Chair

Dr. Min-Kai Lin (ASIAA/NCTS)

Nicole Wang (Administrative Staff)

Advisory Committee:

Prof. Shih-Ping Lai (NTHU)

Prof. Albert K. H. Kong (NTHU)

Dr. Henry Tsz-King Wong (ASIoP)

Prof. Hsiang-Kuang Chang (NTHU)

Prof. Huei-Ru Vivien Chen (NTHU)


The organizers thank the University Consortium of ALMA-Taiwan (UCAT), and the National Center for Theoretical Sciences, Physics Division (Theoretical and Computational Astrophysics Group) for supporting this event.