The Iowa chapter of the EOA (Educational Opportunity Association - formerly MAEOPP), is called Iowa TRIO. The EOA represents 10 states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, and Wisconsin. Iowa TRIO is the professional organization for personnel affiliated with TRIO programs throughout the state of Iowa.

About the Educational Opportunity Association

The Educational Opportunity Association (EOA) is a recognized 501(c)3 non-profit consortium of professionals with the specific purpose of leveling the playing field of educational opportunity for first-generation, low-income, underrepresented, disabled students and veterans. EOA is made up of 8 chapter associations in the Midwest: Illinois TRIO, Indiana TRIO, Iowa TRIO, Michigan College Access Program Personnel, Minnesota TRIO, Missouri-Kansas-Nebraska (MOKANE), Ohio TRIO, and Wisconsin Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel.

EOA is the representative body of those persons who have an active interest or who are professionally involved in broadening accessibility to and success in formal postsecondary education. This includes many colleges, universities, and agencies that host educational opportunity programs, including TRIO programs, within the ten states in the Midwest. Formally established in 1975, EOA (formerly known as the Mid-America Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel - MAEOPP) represents professional educators in more than 615 different programs throughout the Midwest and reaches more than 165,532 students.

Our Members

EOA has a membership base of approximately 950 members in the ten state region and is arguably the largest in the nation. Members are persons involved in the work of college access and success, are working in roles where their job responsibilities support TRIO or TRIO eligible students, or professionals who support the work of college access and success.