Primary Years Programme

The first year of formal schooling at DIS is called Transition, followed by Grades 1-6.

for more information about the first year of School please click on this link

DIS is an International Baccalaureate Primary Years Program World School and uses the PYP’s pedagogical framework to deliver its curriculum. The Australian Curriculum describes what is essential for all students to achieve. It describes what students should know and be able to do at different stages of learning and provide a clear basis for reporting and program planning.

IB PYP World Schools share a common philosophy—a commitment to high quality, challenging, international education that we believe is important for our students.

Subject areas studied through units of inquiry are:

  • English

  • Mathematics

  • Science

  • History

    • Geography - local, regional and global

    • History - local, regional and global

  • Language – Tetun, Portuguese and Indonesian

  • Timorese Culture, History and Geography

  • The Arts – music, visual

  • Health and Physical Education

  • Information and Communications Technology (ICT)

The Primary Years Programme

The PYP prescribes common understandings of planning, assessment, the use of language and an approach to inquiry. Students will experience the curriculum through ‘units of inquiry’.

The PYP is designed for students aged 3 to 12. It focuses on the development of the whole child as an inquirer, both in the classroom and in the world outside. It’s framework is guided by six interdisciplinary themes of global significance, explored using knowledge and skills derived from six subjects areas, as well as interdisciplinary skills, with an emphasis on inquiry.


  • addresses students’ academic, social and emotional well-being

  • encourages students to develop independence and to take responsibility for their own learning

  • supports students’ efforts to gain understanding of the world and to function comfortably within

  • it helps students establish personal values as a foundation upon which international-mindedness will develop and flourish.

The most significant and distinctive feature of the IB Primary Years Programme are its six transdisciplinary themes.

These themes provide IB World Schools with the opportunity to incorporate local and global issues into the curriculum and effectively allow students to “step up” beyond the confines of learning within subject areas.

  • Who we are

  • Where we are in place and time

  • How we express ourselves

  • How the world works

  • How we organize ourselves

  • Sharing the planet

Preschool will study four units of inquiry a year.

Preschool teachers also document evidence of the five learning outcomes and key learning components of the Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF, Australia, 2014) which is delivered alongside the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme (PYP) units of inquiry.

The teaching staff closely observe each child and make a written summary against the learning outcomes of the Early Years Learning Framework. There are five learning outcomes in the Early Years Learning Framework and each outcome has a set of key components that form the basis of assessment for each outcome.

The five EYLF learning outcomes are as follows:

  • Children have a strong sense of identity

  • Children are connected with and connect with their world

  • Children have a strong sense of wellbeing

  • Children are confident and involved learners

  • Children are effective communicators

For more information contact our PYP Coordinator. This video explains the basics of the programme.