Ms. Slinkard's Kindergarten Class 2019-2020

WELCOME!!

I am so excited for this school year!! Please use the tabs across the top to navigate through the site! Also, look below to find out more information about Ms. Slinkard!

Feel free to contact me about anything at all! I will respond within 24 hours :)

kasey.slinkard@dcsd.k12.org

About Ms. Slinkard

I am so excited to join Mountain View Elementary! This will be my 10th year teaching! During my 9 years of teaching, I educated students as a reading interventionist for two years, a ­kindergarten teacher for 5 years and taught second grade for 2 years. I am so excited to return to kindergarten and watch my littles become lifelong learners! I believe kindergarten is the perfect age to inspire young minds and instill an early enthusiasm for learning and fun. Teaching is such a passion of mine and is such a rewarding experience!


I was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri and just moved to Colorado in July 2019. I graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia in 2010 with a Bachelor Degree of Science in Elementary Education. I am a lifelong learner and continued to pursue my passion for teaching by becoming certified in Early Childhood Education in December of 2011, and receiving a Master of Arts in Elementary Education with a certification in reading in December 2015.



I have a miniature pinscher and chihuahua mix named Pixie Stix and she loves to go hiking with me! She is full of energy and needs daily walks/hikes. We are having a great time exploring Colorado together!! Pixie just turned 7 in July and enjoyed her first plane flight back to Saint Louis after her 7th birthday! I got the name Pixie Stix from the candy. I name all of my pets after candy/ food :). I've had a guinea pig named Snickers, a rabbit named Skittles, an iguana named Beans, a bearded dragon named Butters, and a fish named Cupcake!


I also have twin nieces who just turned 4 and my sister is pregnant with another baby due in August! We won't find out if the baby is male or female until he/she is born! I am very close with my family (thank goodness for FaceTime)! In my free time, I like to read, hike and explore with Pixie, workout, listen to music, cook new vegan recipes, and spend time with family/friends!

Some of my favorites:

  • Color: purple (but my apartment is decorated in blue and gold)
  • Food: Trying anything vegan. I went vegetarian a year ago and have been vegan since April 2019! I love trying new, homemade recipes!
  • Snacks: Larabars, pistachios, salt & vinegar chips
  • Animal: dogs
  • Season: Fall
  • Stores: Amazon, Target, T.J. Maxx, Marshalls
  • Drinks: water and coffee
  • Sport: working out with weight lifting
  • Movie: Batman
  • Holiday: Christmas
  • I also love dream catchers and 4 hanging in my apartment!