Incoming Freshmen Information

Dear Parent/Guardian

You and your student are cordially invited to St. Charles North High School on Thursday, January 9, 2020, when we will host our Future Freshman Curriculum Information Night. Your assigned Counselor will meet with you to review the course selection process. Please refer to the included agenda to determine which session you should attend as each counselor will present to the families in their alphabetically assigned caseload. You will have the opportunity to peruse our Curriculum Fair in the Small Gym and converse with teachers about courses and curriculum. Finally, you will have the option to walk through our building to tour many specialized classrooms.

All current eighth grade students will be selecting their courses for next year in HAC (Home Access Center) using the student login beginning December 23, 2020. Following Future Freshman Curriculum Information Night, High School counselors will be meeting with all middle school students (January 15 - 17, 2020) to finalize and “Submit” their freshman course selections. Your student will select elective courses, which also count towards graduation. Please start having conversations with your student about the courses they will be choosing in HAC. Course listings and descriptions of the courses can be found online in the Course Offering Book and Planning Guide at north.d303.org.

The Saint Charles High Schools collaborate to determine high school course placement recommendations in Mathematics, English, Science, and Social Studies for eighth grade students. These placements are based upon grades from seventh and eighth grade, PSAT 8/9 scores, and eighth grade teacher recommendations.

All questions regarding placement must be directed to the appropriate Lead Teacher:

English

Dr. Matthew Ruckoldt

331-228-6378 or matthew.ruckoldt@d303.org

Mathematics

Mrs. Jennifer Anderson

331-228-6203 or jennifer.a.anderson@d303.org

Science

Mr. Jared McCall

331-228-6327 or jared.mccall@d303.org

Social Studies

Mr. Michael Zernone

331-228-6421 or michael.zernone@d303.org

World Language

Mrs. Megan Marquez

331-228-2190 or megan.marquez@d303.org

Depending on your student’s birthday, Driver Education may be a course option for 2nd semester. If eligible, a green Driver Education request form has been included in the packet. If you would like to request Driver Education, please fill out the enclosed form and return it via mail or drop it off at North High School by Friday, January 17, 2020.

During the middle of March, Course Verification forms will be mailed. This letter will provide a list of each course that has been selected for the 2020-2021 school year. If there are questions after receiving the Course Verification letter, please contact your assigned high school counselor.

COUNSELOR ASSIGNMENTS

A-C

Matt Kirby

331.228.6295 or matthew.kirby@d303.org

D-G

Megan Gow

228.331.3094 or megan.gow@d303.org

H-K

Laurie Moffitt

331.228.5258 or laurie.moffitt@d303.org

L-O

Amy Collins

331.228.6235 or amy.collins@d303.org

P-So

Larry Nothnagel

331.228.6341 or larry.nothnagel@d303.org

Sp-Z

Nicolette Karl

331.228.3095 or nicolette.karl@d303.org


Future Freshman Curriculum Information Night represents your first official visit as St. Charles North students and parents. We look forward to welcoming you to our community of learners. Your participation is essential in collaboratively creating your student’s course selections and providing a smooth transition to high school.

Renee Reynolds John Peters

Assistant Principals - Instructional Programs Assistant Principal - College and Career Readiness