The Governing Body

Thank you for visiting our page, as Governors we act in a voluntary capacity to support the school leadership team in every aspect of running our school, we also have a responsibility to ensure that the school operates to the various regulations set out and that all funds are spent appropriately in the best interests of the children. _

Our full governing body comprises of:

  • Gavin Hirst (Headteacher)

  • Richard Meadmore (Chair, Foundation Governor)

  • Angela Hynes (Parent Governor)

  • Linda Richards (Foundation Governor)

  • Gillian Laverty (Staff Governor)

  • Hannah Grannon (Co-opted / Staff Governor)

  • Helen Young (Parent Governor)

  • Rosemary Reynolds (Co-opted Governor)

  • Katherine Holden (Co-opted Governor)

  • Alison Waite (Co-opted Governor)

  • Caroline McGrath (Local Authority Governor)

  • Helen Hall (Co-opted Governor)

Class Governors:

  • Nursery - Angela Hynes/Helen Young

  • Reception - Angela Hynes/Helen Young

  • Year 1 - Helen Hall

  • Year 2 - Linda Richards

  • Year 3 - Rosemary Reynolds

  • Year 4 - Richard Meadmore

  • Year 5 - Katherine Holden

  • Year 6 - Alison Waite

Our core functions are:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

  • Holding the senior leadership team to account for the educational performance of the school, the wellbeing of the pupils and the performance management of staff;

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is effectively spent.

Each year we hold 3 Full Governing Body (FGB) meetings, 3 Resources (includes buildings) committee meetings, and 3 Teaching and Learning Committees (includes pupil support) meetings. Staffing, Head Teacher performance management and remuneration meetings take place as required. The chair of governors also meets the head teacher and other key members of staff on a regular basis.