Vision and Hearing Screening
The Texas Health and Safety Code requires that all children enrolled for the first time in any public, private, parochial, or denominational school or in a Department of Family and Protective Services licensed child-care center and licensed child care home in Texas, or who meet certain grade criteria (specified below), must be screened or have a professional examination for possible vision and hearing problems.
The requirements apply each year for children enrolled in any licensed child-care center and licensed child care home or school program at the ages or grades listed below:
Children who turn 4-years-old by September 1, kindergartners or any other first-time entrants (4 years* through 12th grade) - screening must be done within 120 days of admission
1st-, 3rd-, 5th- and 7th graders - screening must be done anytime within the school year (preferably within first semester)
In 1985, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 832 which requires screening for abnormal spinal curves for students in grades 6 and 9 (or 5 and 8) attending public and private schools. The school is then required to notify the parents if a child shows any signs of a possible curvature. Screening should be done during the growth spurt years, ages 10-14 years (Grades 5-9), to detect spinal deformities early. The screening requirement for children entering grades 6 and 9 (or 5 and 8) may be met if the child has been screened for spinal deformities by a physician and a record has been provided.