Early Education in the BRSU

The Bennington Rutland Supervisory Union is committed to serving children and their families in a variety of ways to access high quality Early Education services. The BRSU has a combination of School-Based preschool programs and Community-Based preschool partnerships.

School-Based Preschool Programs:

Mettawee Community School’s preschool program is a Head Start partnership which serves 3 and 4 year olds from Pawlet and Rupert. Every spring, the Mettawee Community School offers a pre-Kindergarten screening in order to provide parents with a snapshot of their child’s developmental strengths and/or needs. The scheduled screening for this year will be held on Wednesday, March 27th. Please call Heidi Hammell at 802-645-9009 to schedule a screening and to learn more about the Early Ed program at Mettawee.

Currier Memorial Preschool (formerly Danby/Mt Tabor Early Education Center) is housed at Currier Memorial School and serves students aged 3 and 4 from the towns of Danby and Mt. Tabor.

There will be an Orientation/Registration Day for all interested families on Friday, April 5. Please contact Tabitha Davis at 802-293-5191 for more information on the Orientation. Students need to be 3 years old by September 1.

MEMS PreK is housed at MEMS and is available to all 4 year olds in the towns of Dorset, Landgrove, Londonderry, Manchester, Peru, Sunderland, and Weston. Children must be 4 years old by September 1 in order to enroll in this program. The MEMS PreK has two classrooms and is a Head Start partnership.

There will be a Visit Day in the classrooms Wednesday, March 13 and Thursday, March 14. Families interested in the MEMS PreK program should call Jen Ringe at 802-367-1710 by March 8 to schedule an appointment or to learn more about the program.

Community-Based Preschool Partnerships:

The BRSU also contracts with many Act 166 Pre-qualified Preschool Providers throughout the area. All Act 166 Pre-qualified Preschool Providers meet the legal requirements to provide public PreK by the Vermont Agency of Education and Agency of Human Services. They follow a curriculum aligned with the Vermont Early Learning Standards, use Teaching Strategies GOLD as a developmentally appropriate observational assessment, and have a Vermont licensed early educator on site to provide instruction to students.

The BRSU has a large Public PreK Region meaning that students may attend a Pre-qualified preschool provider in towns outside of the geographic boundaries of the BRSU. This is intended for the convenience of area residents who work outside of the supervisory union.

Our current partners include the following:

  • Happy Days Playschool - Arlington
  • The Lawrence School for Young Children - E. Dorset
  • Northshire Day School - Manchester
  • Take Five - Manchester
  • Stepping Stones - Manchester
  • The Little School - Weston
  • West River Montessori School - S. Londonderry
  • Saxtons River Montessori School - Saxtons River
  • Leap Frog - Poultney
  • Bennington Early Childhood Center - Bennington

In order to access Public PreK programming from one of our partners, parents must first enroll their child in a partnering program. The program itself will then provide an Act 166 form and a residency form that the district requires. Act 166 provides for ten hours of public PreK for 35 weeks. The programs themselves are reimbursed for your child’s attendance and the difference in tuition is reflected on the parent’s invoice from the private program.

The forms are also available here: 2019-2020 Universal PK Request form and Declaration of Residency

For more information, please contact Daryl Houk at 802-362-2452 ext. 1518.