14th National Natural Language Processing Research Symposium Pre-Conference Activity:

Student Research Workshop

February 02-03, 2018, Bicol University, Legazpi

Clich this link for 15NNLPRS

Oriental COCOSDA 2019 | O-COCOSDA 2019

Oriental COCOSDA 2020 | O-COCOSDA 2020


Organized by the Computing Society of the Philippines – Special Interest Group on Natural Language Processing (CSP SIG-NLP), National University (NU), and Bicol University (BU).

The 14th National Natural Language Processing Research Symposium Pre-Conference Activity: Student Research Workshop (14NNLPRS: SRW) is a regular gathering of researchers from different fields working on the analysis, processing, and generation of human languages. The main conference 14NNLPRS will be held in Baguio in May 2018 and will be hosted by the University of the Cordilleras. SRW as a pre-conference activity is intended to provide students – both undergraduate and graduate – a forum to present their work on NLP and receive feedback.

14NNLPRS: SRW will be a venue for discussing the various challenges and opportunities students face in integrating human language technologies to analyze various types of data. Papers on preliminary works describing the challenges and opportunities faced by the authors are also invited. Select papers will be invited to a special issue of the Philippine Computing Journal.

Relevant topics include but not limited to the areas below.


  • Corpus Building
  • Dictionary and Philippine Languages
  • Discourse Analysis
  • Phonology and morphology
  • Language Resources and Evaluation
  • Language Clustering and Mapping
  • Language Learning
  • Lexicology
  • Multilingual Speech Corpora
  • Prosody
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Speech Databases
  • Standardization
  • Syntax and grammar


  • Automatic Speech Recognition
  • Culturomics
  • Information Retrieval
  • Machine Learning for Natural Language
  • Machine Translation
  • Named Entity Recognition
  • Natural Language Generation
  • Segmentation and Labeling
  • Sentiment Analysis and Opinion Mining
  • Sign Language Processing
  • Speech Synthesis
  • Text Summarization and Generation
  • Word Sense Disambiguation
  • WordNets and Ontologies

CHED Endorsement

14th NNLPRS 2018 CHED Endorsement.pdf


Program v4.pdf

Keynote Speaker

Mr. Leif Syliongka currently works at Teradata Philippines where he is involved in several data science projects related to data discovery, Natural Language Processing, Machine Learning, and Deep Learning. Examples of his projects include text extraction from images, content recommender systems, and social media analyzer. Prior to joining Teradata, Leif was an Assistant Professor and Researcher at De La Salle University, where he was able to publish research papers in both local and international venues. He earned both his Bachelor and Master's Degree in Computer Science at DLSU.

Accepted Papers

Oral presentation

  • William Philip Paderan, Gian Karlo Orozco, Christian Paolo Quinones, Shyra Mae Hermogeno and Lea Austero: Clustering Southern Luzon Languages Using Hierarchical Algorithm
  • Joseph Marvin R. Imperial, Jeyrome A. Orosco, Shiela Mae O. Mazo and Lany L. Maceda: Sentiment Analysis of Typhoon Related Tweets using Standard and Bidirectional Recurrent Neural Networks
  • Christian Paulo De Leon, Allan Adrian Gatchalian, Juan Miguel Ninobla, Nigel Roi Concepcion, David Joseph Catemprate and Ronald Pascual: Development of a Scanned Filipino Text-to-Speech Device as a Reading Aid for the Blind and Visually Impaired
  • Christian Sy and Thelma Palaoag: Topic Modelling Disaster-Related Responses Through The Malasakit Tool-kit Using Latent Dirichlet Allocation (LDA) Approach
  • Mary Joy Canon and Josephine Dela Cruz: Neural Network-Based Text Classification of Disaster Risk Management Qualitative Responses

Poster presentation

  • Jeric Artiaga, Jerald Cornal, Alejandro Dela Rosa, Jerrico Marfil and Mary Joy Canon: Applying Conditional Random Field in Extracting Disaster-Related Information from News Articles
  • Jason David Fernandez, Joshua Jadie, Charles Kenneth Lim, Jesvir Zuniega and Jennifer Llovido: Bi-directional Bikol-English Statistical Machine Translator
  • Edgar Alan Balderama, Mark Han Hernandez, Mary Louielyn Pelaez, Lemuelle Rico and Christian Sy: Topic Modelling on Typhoon Related Tweets to Enhance Disaster Risk Reduction and Management
  • Anthony Jacob Ascalon, John Ezekiel Dee, Ben Carl Yee, Marianne Yao and Nathaniel Oco: Multi-Label Classification of Qualitative Responses from E-Participation Surveys
  • Treena Mareh Egia, Pamela Combis, Anna Elizabeth Alvarez and Paul Ulanday: Relation Extraction for Tagalog Natural Disaster-Related News Articles
  • Angel Aira Sumanoy, Jedidiah Jan Colinco, Noeh Myll Baladjay, Paula Lynn Futalan, Allan Credo and Rachel Edita Roxas: Sentiment Analysis of Social Media Posts in Closely-Related Languages
  • Elleah Kim Jarin, Rhio Mae Manaog, John Rey Naguit and Joseph Teleb: Temporal Sentiment Analysis of Disaster Tweets


Registration Type

Student (Undergraduate)

Student (Graduate)


Onsite Registration

PHP 700.00

PHP 1,300.00

PHP 3,500.00

*regular registration includes CSP membership

For early bird payments:

  • A copy of the deposit slip should be emailed to: naoco@national-u.edu.ph
  • The deposit slip should also be presented during onsite registration.

Scientific Review Committee

  • Katrina Joy Abriol-Santos, University of the Philippines Los Baños
  • Maria Art Antonette Clariño, University of the Philippines Los Baños
  • Kurt Junshean Espinosa, University of Manchester
  • Matthew Phillip Go, Industry Partner
  • Lany Maceda, Bicol University
  • Alvin Malicdem, Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University
  • Dalos Miguel, Saint Louis University
  • Nicco Nocon, De La Salle University
  • Nathaniel Oco, National University
  • Ethel Ong, De La Salle University
  • Thelma Palaoag, University of the Cordilleras
  • Rodolfo Jr Raga, Jose Rizal University
  • Ralph Vincent Regalado, De La Salle University
  • Ramon Rodriguez, University of California, Berkeley
  • Julie Ann Salido, Aklan State University
  • Leif Romeritch Syliongka, Industry Partner
  • Aileen Joan Vicente, University of the Philippines Cebu
  • John Noel Victorino, Ateneo de Manila University
  • Marianne Yao, Silliman University

Local Organizing Committee

  • Lea Austero
  • Davie Balmadrid
  • Michael Brogada
  • Mary Joy Canon
  • Jennifer Llovido
  • Lany Maceda
  • Franklin Miranda
  • Rodel Naz
  • Aris Ordonez
  • Rommel Evan Paje
  • Arlene Satuito
  • Christian Sy







Nathaniel Oco

Lany Maceda


  • CSB1 Function Hall
  • Bicol University
  • Legazpi City, Albay