Student Services

The Student Services Department is a group of professionals trained to provide support (academic, personal, career, discipline, attendance, health, etc.) to students, parents and teachers. The following is a specific list of responsibilities for each division of the Student Services Department:



Assistant Principal for Student Services

Ed Sterling x8106 esterling@bhsd228.com

Supervises the PPS Department. Coordinates testing. Prepares the Master Schedule. Oversees course selection.


Deans

Michele Jurgens (A-GU) x8119 mjurgens@bhsd228.com

Dave Curtin (GV-PE) x8112 dacurtin@bhsd228.com

Otis Lane (PF-Z) x8113 olane@bhsd228.com

Oversees attendance; Regulates and helps maintain discipline; Promotes an orderly, safe, and secure learning environment; Supports students, parents, and staff with behavior management techniques


Counselors

William Flood x8124 wflood@bhsd228.com

A-De, Class of 2020-2022

A-D, Class of 2023

Carla Cheatham x8114 ccheatham@bhsd228.com

Df-Hi, Class of 2020-2022

E-La, Class of 2023

Jennifer Bylut x8115 jbylut@bhsd228.com

Hj-Mon, Class of 2020-2022

Lb-O, Class of 2023

Anna Rauch x8117 arauch@bhsd228.com

Moo-Sal, Class of 2020-2022

P-Sam, Class of 2023

Kristine Bonebrake x8116 kbonebrake@bhsd228.com

Sam-Z, Class of 2020-2022

San-Z, Class of 2023

Counsels students in personal, academic, and career domains; Teaches developmental guidance lessons; Schedules students; Oversees testing (PSAT, ASSET, ASVAB, A.P., Consumer Ed); Promotes and maintains parental/community relations


Project Manager

Amy Richardella x5264 arichardella@bhsd228.com

Assists Assistant Principal for Student Services and counselors; Coordinates special projects for the Student Services Department; Arranges College and Career Speakers; Scholarship Coordinator


Social Workers

Theresa Connelly x8110 tconnelly@bhsd228.com

Sarah Sabatino x8137 ssabatino@bhsd228.com

Serves as a liaison between school, home, and community; Provides consultation with parents regarding behavior management and community resources; Provides individual and group counseling to identified students


Nurse

Tamara Pryor x8111 tpryor@bhsd228.com

Reviews student immunization records; Responds to student illness or injury; Monitors student in-school medication


Spanish - English Translator

Rosario Jaramillo x8162 rjaramillo@bhsd228.com

PPS FAX: 708-371-4615


PPS Secretary

Kathi Zylman x8107 kzylman@bhsd228.com

Answers questions and monitors the PPS office; Teams with other PPS staff to monitor graduation, testing, and other records in PPS; adjusts grades as requested.


Registrar

Sharlene Innocenti x8151 sinnocenti@bhsd228.com

Prepares transcripts and student records; Assists in the PPS office for various projects


Deans' Secretary

Gina Rampage x8108 grampage@bhsd228.com

Assists Deans with discipline records; Monitors records and files; Assists with attendance


Attendance Secretary

Karen Edwards x8109 kedwards@bhsd228.com

Monitors and records attendance; Writes state and local reports


Special Education Secretary

Sharryn Smyth x8133 ssmyth@bhsd228.com


Special Education Coordinator

Jacki Frederking x4845 jfrederking@bhsd228.com


Psychologists

Carly Kaplan x8125 ckaplan@bhsd228.com

Alissa Sauer (708)342-8246 asauer@bhsd228.com


Diamond Douglas x8147 ddouglas@bhsd228.com

Identifies and coordinates programming for special education students; Screens and assesses possible candidates for special education; Obtains and maintains special education records; Consults with staff and parents regarding needs of students


Speech Pathologist

John McGarry x8225 jmcgarry@bhsd228.com

Works with students to improve speech and language skills