Student Services

The Student Services Department is a group of professionals trained to provide support (academic, personal, career, discipline, attendance, health, etc.) to students, parents and teachers. The following is a specific list of responsibilities for each division of the Student Services Department:

Assistant Principal for Student Services

Ed Sterling x8106 esterling@bhsd228.com

Supervises the PPS Department; Coordinates testing; Prepares the Master Schedule; Oversees course selection

Deans

Michele Jurgens (A-GOM) x8119 mjurgens@bhsd228.com

Dave Curtin (GON-N) x8112 dacurtin@bhsd228.com

Otis Lane (O-Z) x8113 olane@bhsd228.com

Oversees attendance; Regulates and helps maintain discipline; Promotes an orderly, safe, and secure learning environment; Supports students, parents, and staff with behavior management techniques

Guidance Counselors

William Flood (A-De) x8124 wflood@bhsd228.com

Carla Cheatham (Df-Hi) x8114 ccheatham@bhsd228.com

Jennifer Bylut (Hj-Mon) x8115 jbylut@bhsd228.com

Anna Rauch (Moo-Sal) x8117 arauch@bhsd228.com

Kristine Bonebrake (Sam-Z) x8116 kbonebrake@bhsd228.com

Counsels students in personal, academic, and career domains; Teaches developmental guidance lessons; Schedules students; Oversees testing (PSAT, ASSET, ASVAB, A.P., Consumer Ed); Promotes and maintains parental/community relations

Project Manager

Amy Richardella x5264 arichardella@bhsd228.com

Assists Assistant Principal for Student Services and counselors; Coordinates special projects for the Student Services Department; Arranges College and Career Speakers; Scholarship Coordinator

Social Workers

Theresa Connelly x8110 tconnelly@bhsd228.com

Ted Bailey x8136 tbailey@bhsd228.com

Sarah Sabatino x8137 ssabatino@bhsd228.com

Serves as a liaison between school, home, and community; Provides consultation with parents regarding behavior management and community resources; Provides individual and group counseling to identified students

PPS FAX: 708-371-4615

Nurse

Tamara Pryor x8111 tpryor@bhsd228.com

Reviews student immunization records; Responds to student illness or injury; Monitors student in-school medication

PPS Secretary

Shelli Posey x8107 sposey@bhsd228.com

Answers questions and monitors the PPS office; Teams with other PPS staff to monitor graduation, testing, and other records in PPS; Adjusts grades as requested

Registrar

Sharlene Innocenti x8151 sinnocenti@bhsd228.com

Prepares transcripts and student records; Assists in the PPS office for various projects

Deans' Secretary

Gina Rampage x8108 grampage@bhsd228.com

Assists Deans with discipline records; Monitors records and files; Assists with attendance

Attendance Secretary

Karen Edwards x8109 kedwards@bhsd228.com

Monitors and records attendance; Writes state and local reports

Special Education Secretary

Sharryn Smyth x8133 ssmyth@bhsd228.com

Special Education Coordinator

Jacki Frederking x4845 jfrederking@bhsd228.com

Psychologists

Carly Kaplan x8125 ckaplan@bhsd228.com

Diamond Douglas x8147 ddouglas@bhsd228.com

Kelly Eastman x8146 keastman@bhsd228.com

Identifies and coordinates programming for special education students; Screens and assesses possible candidates for special education; Obtains and maintains special education records; Consults with staff and parents regarding needs of students

Speech Pathologist

Nedra Lee x4825 nlee@bhsd228.com

Works with students to improve speech and language skills

Spanish - English Translator

Rosario Jaramillo x8162 rjaramillo@bhsd228.com