2018-2019 Course

2018-19 Cohort - Community Teams

Belcourt, North Dakota

Stacie Blue, Turtle Mountain Community College sblue@tm.edu

Renee Aalund, Turtle Mountain Community College, raalund@tm.edu

Eielson, Alaska

Shannon Trizzino, Crawford Elementary, shannon.trizzino@k12northstar.org

Fairbanks, Alaska - Chinook

Darcie West, Chinook Montessori Charter School, dwest29@alaska.edu

Shauna Trotzke, Chinook Montessori Charter School, shaunatrotzke@yahoo.com

Paul Fontes, Chinook Montessori Charter School, paul.fontes@k12northstar.org

Fairbanks, Alaska - Denali

Lynn De Filippo, Denali Elementary School, ladefilippo@gmail.com

Maxine Dibert, Denali Elementary School, maxine.dibert@k12northstar.org

Fairbanks, Alaska - AINE

Nicole James, Association of Interior Native Educators

McKenzie Sleeman, Hutchison High School

Kamuela, Hawaii

Kachina Nishida, Olohana Foundation, kachinanishida@yahoo.com

Sage Nishida, Olohana Foundation

Trang Cao, Olohana Foundation, trang@olohana.org

Helena, Montana

Christina Buffington, St. Andrew School, buffingtonchristi@gmail.com

Homer, Alaska

Beth Trowbridge, Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies, beth@akcoastalstudies.org

Katie Gavenus, Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies, katieg@akcoastalstudies.org

Henry Reiske, Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies, henry@akcoastalstudies.org

Koyukuk, Alaska

Marie Dayton, Ella B. Vernetti School, mdayton@yksd.com

Damien Dayton, Ella B. Vernetti School

Dazlyn Dayton, Ella B. Vernetti School

Metlakatla, Alaska

Sesilynn Schleusner, Boys and Girls Club of Metlakatla, sschleusner@bgcalaska.org

Michael Duran, Boys and Girls Club of Metlakatla

Nanwalek, Alaska

Priscilla Evans, Nanwalek Summer Youth Program, priscillajevans@yahoo.com

Eugenia Moonin, evmoonin@yahoo.com

Sky Evans, Nanwalek School

Pilot Point, Alaska

Gregory Kingsley, Pilot Point Tribal Council Environmental Program, gregorykingsley@gmail.com

William Harris, Pilot Point Tribal Council

Polson, Montana

Jennifer Wyman, Linderman Elementary, jwyman@polson.k12.mt.us

Christine Ayers, Linderman Elementary, cayers@polson.k12.mt.us

Portland, Oregon

Emily Piccone, MT Scott Learning Center, emily@mtscott.org

Tristan Linquist, MT Scott Learning Center, tristan@mtscott.org

Shishmaref, Alaska

Ken Stenek, Shishmaref School, kstenek@shh.bssd.org

Sarah Stenek, Shishmaref School

Gabriel Stenek, Shishmaref School

Annie Weyiouanna, Native Village of Shishmaref, nvs.localcoordinator@gmail.com

Tok, Alaska

Bonnie Dompierre, Alaska Gateway School District, bdompierre@agsd.us

Wanda McQuillin, Alaska Gateway School District, wanda.mcquillin@gmail.com

Two Rivers, Alaska

Allison Wylde, Two Rivers Elementary, allison.wylde@k12northstar.org

Utqiagvik, Alaska

Linda Nicholas-Figueroa, Ilisagvik College, linda.nicholas-figueroa@ilisagvik.edu

Course Primary Instructors:

Dr. Elena Sparrow, International Arctic Research Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Dr. Katie Spellman, International Arctic Research Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Malinda Chase, Association of Interior Native Educators & Alaska Regional Tribal Climate Resilience Liaison at the Alaska Climate Center

Teaching Assistant:

Christine Keill, International Arctic Research Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Travel and Logistics:

Tohru Saito, International Arctic Research Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Guest Instructors and Speakers:

Sam Demientieff, Elder Speaker and Knowledge Holder (Holy Cross / Fairbanks)

Clara Anderson, Elder Speaker and Knowledge Holder (Rampart / Fairbanks)

Bonnie Murray, NASA Langley Education

Kevin Hussey, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Maxine Dibert, Association of Interior Native Educators

Candace Kruger, Birch Bark Local Expert

Brian DeWilde, Birch Bark Local Expert

Dr. Dave Verbyla, School of Natural Resources & Extension, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Stanley Edwin, Department of Atmospheric Science, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Dr. Kenji Yoshikawa, Water and Environmental Research Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Dr. Christa Mulder, Institute of Arctic Biology, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Richard Buzzard, Department of Geology and Geophysics, University of Alaska Fairbanks\

Dr. Javier Fochesatto, UAF Geophysical Institute

Guests:

Emily Stone, writer and educator, Cable Natural History Museum, Cable, Wisconsin

Kelly Kealy, evaluator, Goldstream Group LLC.

Angela Larson, evaluator, Goldstream Group LLC.

Bobbi Bevacqua, Western Washington University, Arctic REU Scholar