Shafton Primary Academy shares has a joint Governing Board with Meadstead Primary. We are proud of our Governors and the work they do in leading our schools.

Our governing board play a vital role in our school. They are custodians of the high standards of academic excellence and the welfare of our children. They give us lots of challenge and set us high targets. They act as our critical friend. We are proud of the commitment and dedication shown by our governors. They show this dedication not just through attending meetings and monitoring standards but also in their presence at functions and special events. They have a real knowledge of our school and offer a vibrant mix of expertise and co-operative working with the teaching staff. This allows our governors to bring a range of skills to their role.

Chair of Governors: Julie Price-Grimshaw

Primary Director : Lauren Costello

Finance Governor: Father David Nicholson

Peer Principal/ SEND Governor: Helen Steele

Safeguarding Governor: James Annetts

Peer Principal Governor: Tom Hawkins

Pupil Premium Governor : Rachel Ward

As well as the members of the Governing Board, the head teacher from each academy attends every meeting and offers support and challenge to each other.

Supporting our Governing Board is our

Parent and Community Advisory Board or PCAB for short.

They are the voice of parents and the local community and they meet every term, feeding information into the Governing Board. You are very welcome to join our PCAB. Please contact Miss Margereson at school for more details. Our PCAB members are:

Mr Lockwood - Chair

Mrs Hemmingway

Mrs Crossland

Mrs Fryer

Pastor Joy

Pastor Roy

The overarching responsibility for Governance of the academy lies with the Academies Enterprise Trust (AET) Board of Trustees.

Follow these links for: the Governance Framework of the Trust, the Articles of Association, Master Funding Agreement and each academy Supplemental Funding Agreement.

If you would like access to the academy's governing board meeting minutes, you may request a copy from the Clerk to the governing board.

Meadstead and Shafton - Governing Board Composition and Key Information

Governing Body Contact Details

If you wish to contact the Chair of Governors please send a letter to the school office addressed to: The Chair of Governors. Alternatively please e mail

Please click here to see our latest Governance review. (This was written when our governance board included St Helen's Primary.)

Governance Review

Copies of Governing Body Minutes

Please see attachments below for copies of Governing Body Minutes