Teaching and Learning

Programmes of study at Four Dwellings Primary Academy are planned and underpinned by the National Curriculum. English, Mathematics and Science are all taught as discrete subjects, however, children are given the opportunity to develop their knowledge and skills in these core subjects through wider curriculum projects. Whilst academic achievement is seen as an entitlement, we look at the developing each and every child, with a large focus on personal development. Children are taught a wide range of subject areas, including:

  • English (Reading, Writing and Speaking & Listening)

  • Mathematics

  • Science

  • Art and Design

  • Computing

  • Design and Technology

  • Forest School

  • Geography

  • History

  • Languages

  • Music

  • Physical Education

  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education

  • Relationships and Sex Education

As well as providing an enriched curriculum, we also give children the opportunity to explore and develop their talents through a large number of after school and lunchtime clubs.

We are constantly reviewing and improving the curriculum and provision to ensure it meets the needs of all of our pupils, so that they enjoy and achieve during their time at Four Dwellings Primary Academy.