Learning & Teaching

The Foundation Stage

During this stage in the academy, children will work on six areas of the curriculum which cover personal, social and emotional development; communication, language and literacy; mathematical development; knowledge and understanding of the world; physical development; and creative development. Children will be assessed at the end of the Foundation Stage against these areas of learning and the results reported to you at the end of the year. There is an expectation that part of this curriculum will be undertaken out of doors and to help with this the academy has established a large, well equipped area alongside the reception classroom.

Key Stage 1

This follows on from the Foundation Stage. At the end of Key Stage 1 children are assessed in reading, writing, numeracy and science. These tests have become known as SATs, the results will be reported to you at the end of year 2.

Key Stage 2

This stage covers a child’s junior years in the academy and continues the coverage of all the areas of the curriculum experienced at Key Stage 1.

At the end of this stage children will again be assessed through SAT tests in reading, grammar and punctuation and mathematics. These results, along with teacher assessments in writing, will be reported to you at the end of year six and are also passed on to the secondary school/academy that your child attends.

Special Educational Needs

Every child in the academy is considered as an individual, and is given the opportunities to develop their abilities and interest to the full. Children with special needs are given extra attention as far as the academy’s resources allow. When the child’s needs cannot be properly met within the academy, the Authority’s special education services are called upon for guidance and help. Parents will always be consulted about such moves.

More details about how SEN is catered for at Brockworth Primary Academy can be found on the SEN Local Offer page.