5500 Bishop Blvd., Cheyenne, WY  82002
Featured Item - Wyoming's Forest Action Plan


Conserving working forests by promoting sound forest management practices


Protecting forest resources and other values against wildfire and forest health threats while preparing to manage new forests


Enhancing benefits through improved management of Wyoming’s varied forest resources in communities, riparian areas, and mountain ranges

Top Stories

*** NEW! ***

Wyoming State Forestry is Hiring! We have a fantastic career opportunity available!

Fire Training Specialist, Riverton, WY

Click HERE

The Wyoming State Forestry Division was officially formed in 1952 by the Legislature. Under State Statute the State Forester is mandated to “have direction of all forest interests and all matters pertaining to forestry within the jurisdiction of the State of Wyoming.” The Forestry Division fulfills this charge by providing three basic programs to the people of the state; State Trust Land Management, Fire Management, and Assistance Forestry.

The Forestry Division is responsible for the management of approximately 263,000 acres of forested trust land across the state. This management includes timber management and harvest, and managing our state lands for long term forest health and productivity. The division is also responsible for fire management on 3.6 million surface acres of state trust land and cooperative fire management on private and federal lands.
The Division is responsible for promotion of good forest management and protection throughout the state on all lands. This includes input, advice, and assistance to private landowners, communities, counties, fire districts, elected state leaders, and federal land management agencies. Much of the assistance forestry program is delivered through the partnership and financial support of the USDA Forest Service and their State & Private Forestry Programs.
The Wyoming State Forestry Division currently has 48 full time and 4 seasonal employees. The Division is headquartered in Cheyenne, and has field offices in Newcastle, Casper, Laramie, Riverton, Buffalo, Pinedale, and Lyman. The Forestry Conservation program utilizes inmates for forestry projects and firefighting and has two facilities located in Newcastle and Riverton.