We are transitioning to the new CIRTL Network Commons! - About this interim site.



CIRTL Cross-Network Offerings

Fall 2016 COURSES

Every semester, CIRTL offers a variety of online courses that leverage the expertise and diversity of faculty from across our network. Our cross-Network courses for Fall 2016 are listed below.

Registration for fall courses (except MOOCs) runs from August 1 through September 20. Priority registration is given to graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and CIRTL alumni in STEM/SBE fields from Network institutions. All other applicants will be accepted on a space-available basis. Students will be notified of their enrollment status by September 21. Students who register by September 2 will be given early bird priority.

All of our courses - except our MOOC - blend synchronous and asynchronous learning in various online environments. That means that for everything but the MOOC, if you're going to sign up for a course, you have to be able to attend course sessions. Synchronous sessions for all of our courses except the MOOC will take place on Blackboard Collaborate, and asynchronous work will take place on Moodle. Please visit our Blackboard instruction page to familiarize yourself with the platform. You can read more about Moodle, other technological requirements, and important deadlines at our Course Logistics page. Lastly, don't forget to read our Course Preparation Checklist page to make sure you know what do to before the first class.

If you need to cancel your registration, please submit a drop form online. 

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities, programs, and courses. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3 AT wisc.edu) in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.

Fall 2016 COURSES

Teaching with Technology
Teaching with Technology
Learn how to enhance your STEM teaching with a range of classroom technologies
Course schedule: Tuesdays, September 27 through November 29
Online meeting times: 3-4:30PM ET/2-3:30PM CT/1-2:30PM MT/12-1:30PM

Instructors: Robert A. Linsenmeier, Northwestern University; and Sabrina Kramer and Stephen M. Roth, University of Maryland
Credits: 1 (Optional)
Registration is now closed.
Diversity in the College Classroom: Teaching the STEM Undergraduate
Develop inclusive teaching practices to support all STEM learners
Course schedule: Thursdays, September 29 through December 1
Online meeting times: 11AM-12:30PM ET/10-11:30AM CT/9-10:30AM MT/8-9:30AM PT

Instructors: Jean Alley, Vanderbilt University; Robin Paige, Rice University
Credits: 1 (Optional)
Registration is now closed.
Photo: Creating Asessments

Creating Assessments and Evaluation Plans
Learn techniques to help you assess what your students are actually learning
Course schedule: Tuesdays, October 4 through November 15
Online meeting times: 12-1:30PM ET/11AM-12:30PM CT/10-11:30AM MT/9-10:30AM PT

Instructors: Mary Besterfield-Sacre and Julie Breckenridge, University of Pittsburgh
Credits: Not offered for credit
Registration is now closed.
An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching (MOOC I)
Get an introduction to evidence-based STEM instruction
Course schedule: 8 weeks, beginning the week of September 19
Instructors: Faculty from across the CIRTL Network
Credits: 0
Register for MOOC 1.
Advancing Learning Through Evidence-Based STEM Teaching (MOOC II)
Learn how to develop your own evidence-based approaches for STEM instruction
Course schedule: 8 weeks, beginning the week of September 19
Instructors: Faculty from across the CIRTL Network
Credits: 0
Register for MOOC 2


Workshops

CIRTL offers a range of workshops to help STEM grad students and postdocs refine their teaching approaches as they advance through their academic careers. Registration is required to attend; each workshop opens for registration one month before the workshop's meeting date.

All of our workshops include an interactive, online session with assignments before and after to help participants develop a specific, concrete product. Instructors use Moodle to host assignments and discussion boards before and after their workshops, and participants will automatically receive a Moodle account once their enrolled in a workshop. Online sessions, which participants are required to attend, will take place in Blackboard Collaborate, the web conferencing software that CIRTL uses for its courses, events, and other cross-Network meetings. To participate in the Blackboard Collaborate sessions, you will need headphones and a computer with a microphone and camera. 

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities, programs, and courses. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3 AT wisc.edu) in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.

Fall 2016 CIRTL WORKSHOPS

Writing a Teaching Philosophy Statement (Fall 2016)
Strengthen your instruction by developing your own teaching philosophy statement
Meeting times: 3:30-5:00PM ET/2:30-4:00PM CT/1:30-2:00PM MT/12:30-1:00PM PT
Meeting dates: Wednesday, September 14 and Wednesday, September 28

Instructors: Denise Leonard, Washington University in St. Louis; and Sarah Hokanson, Boston University

Writing Effective Multiple-Choice Exam Questions (Fall 2016)
Learn how to write multiple choice questions that effectively assess student learning
Meeting time: 11AM-1PM ET/10AM-12PM CT/9-11AM MT/8-10AM PT
Meeting date:  Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Instructors: Nate Pauling and Jean Layne, Texas A&M University
Registration for this workshop will be open Sept. 12 through Sept. 26.

Creating Effective Learning Communities in Teaching and Research (Fall 2016)
Foster effective learning communities that support your students
Meeting time: 2-3:30PM ET/1-2:30PM CT/12-1:30PM MT/11AM-12:30PM PT
Meeting dates: Thursday, October 13 and Thursday, October 27

Instructors: Sarah Hokanson, Boston University; Bennett Goldberg, Northwestern University; Rique Campa, Michigan State University
Registration for this workshop will be open Sept. 19 through Oct. 3.

Universal Design for Learning: Reaching and Teaching Diverse Learners (Fall 2016)
Learn how Universal Design can strengthen your instruction for all students
Meeting time: 
2-4PM ET/1-3PM CT/12-2PM MT/11AM-1PM PT
Meeting date: Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Instructors: Carolyn Sandoval and Vernee Butterfield, Texas A&M University
Registration for this workshop will be open Oct. 24 through Nov. 7.
Work Life Balance Developing Work-Life Resilience (Fall 2016)
Incorporate work-life balance into your professional development with concrete tips
Meeting time: 2-3:30PM ET/1-2:30PM CT/12-1:30PM MT/11AM-12:30PM PT
Meeting date: Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Instructors: Sarah Hokanson, Boston University; Bennett Goldberg, Northwestern University; Rique Campa, Michigan State University
Registration for this workshop will be open Nov. 7 through Nov. 21.


CIRTL Reads Journal Club

CIRTL Reads is a monthly online journal club co-hosted by the University of Colorado Boulder that expands Network participants’ understanding of STEM teaching and learning by discussing recent articles in pedagogy and current trends within STEM. Readings will be posted on the series' Moodle page, and participants are asked to submit discussion questions to the CIRTL Reads discussion leader, Dr. Adam Blanford (gtptiger AT colorado.edu), at least 24 hours before the scheduled session.

When are sessions, and how do you join them? Sessions are 2-3PM ET/1-2PM CT/12-1PM MT/11AM-12PM PT on the second Monday of every month from September through December, and from February through April. Ahead of each session, you'll need to go to Moodle to read the month's article; to access the 2016-2017 CIRTL Reads Moodle page, please submit a request form.


Teaching-As-Research Capstone Series

The Teaching-As-Research (TAR) Capstone series brings together TAR graduate students, post-docs, staff and faculty from across the CIRTL Network to discuss, share resources, ask questions and offer suggestions about ongoing TAR projects. Hear from those who have recently completed TAR projects on what they learned, provide and receive feedback from others and have the opportunity to present your work to the national CIRTL Network.

When are sessions, and how do you join them? We host two sessions a semester: an alumni panel and an all-Network presentation session. Alumni panels will take place on October 3 and February 6 at 5-6:00PM ET/4-5:00PM CT/3-4:00PM MT/2-3:00PM PT. All-Network presentation sessions will take place on November 14 and April 24 at 4-5:30PM ET/3-4:30PM CT/2-3:30PM MT/1-2:30PM PT.


We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities, programs, and courses. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3 AT wisc.edu) in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.