Tennessee Williams

The Glass Menagerie

Tennessee Williams

Biography (excerpt):

Along with Arthur Miller , Williams is acknowledged as one of the two greatest American dramatists of the post-World War II era. His stature is based almost entirely upon works he completed during the first half of his career. He earned Pulitzer Prizes for A Streetcar Named Desire (1947) and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1955) and New York Drama Critics Circle Awards for The Glass Menagerie (1944), A Streetcar Named Desire, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, and The Night of the Iguana (1959). Williams ' lyrical style and his thematic concerns are distinctive in American theater; his material came almost exclusively from his inner life and was little influenced by other dramatists or by contemporary events. One critic noted, " Williams has remained aloof from trends in American drama, continuing to create plays out of the same basic neurotic conflicts in his own personality."

In His Own Words:

Download "Amor Perdida or How it Feels to Become a Professional Playwright" written by Tennessee Williams, published by The Michigan Quarterly Review, and found with ProQuest Platinum, available through Windward School's Center for Teaching and Learning Portal.

Tennessee Williams Chronology:



Download the Tennessee Williams chronology originally published in Notebooks by Tennessee Williams (edited by Margaret Bradham Thornton), a book available at Santa Monica Public Library and Los Angeles Public Library.