Home‎ > ‎

Athletics

The following sports are offered to students:

Fall Sports

Volleyball (G/B) 

7th & 8th Girls' Volleyball: Coach Doug Meyer - doug.meyer@wesdschools.org; 602-896-6173.
7/8 Boys' Volleyball: Coach Robert Shockley - robert.shockley@wesdschools.org; 602-896-6129
CONGRATULATIONS to the 7th/8th Boys' Volleyball Team for winning the WESD Volleyball Tournament!!!
CONGRATULATIONS to the 7th Girls' Volleyball Team for winning the WESD Volleyball Tournament!!!
Nice job 8th Girls' Volleyball Team for their runner-up finish at the WESD Volleyball Tournament

7/8 Girls Soccer

7/8 Girls' Soccer: Trent Matthews - trent@arizonabag.com;

Cross Country (B/G)

7/8 B/G Cross Country: Coach Katie Piehl - katie.piehl@wesdschools.org; 602-896-6158 & Coach Jake Sullivan - jake.sullivan@wesdschools.org 602-896-6174.
 
7th Grade Boys Basketball
Coach Jeff Shaw - jeff.shaw@wesdschools.org: 602-896-6137
CONGRATULATIONS to the 7th Boys' Basketball Team for their Runner-up finish at the WESD Basketball Tournament!
8th Grade Boys Basketball
Coach Matt Nalette - matthew.nalette@guhsdaz.org

CONGRATULATIONS to the 8th Boys' Basketball Team for winning the WESD Basketball Tournament!!!


7/8 Cheer
Coaches
Elizabeth Coleman - Elizabeth.coleman@wesdschools.org: 602-896-6134
Jodi Rudd - Jodi.rudd@wesdschools.org: 602-896-6122

Winter Sports
7/8 Varsity/J.V. Wrestling
Coach Matthew Mainez - 480-479-3664
CONGRATULATIONS to BOTH the Varsity & J.V. Wrestling Teams for winning the WESD Wrestling Championship!!!
This is the 23rd consecutive year for the Varsity Team!!! Way to Go Eagles!

7th & 8th Grade Girls Basketball 
Coach Jeff Shaw - jeff.shaw@wesdschools.org: 602-896-6137

CONGRATULATIONS to the 7th Girls' Basketball Team for winning the WESD Basketball Tournament!!!

CONGRATULATIONS to the 8th Girls' Basketball Team for their Runner-up finish at the WESD Basketball Tournament!


Spring Sports

7/8 Boys Soccer

Coach Peter Tejeda: p.tejeda2013@gmail.com

CONGRATULATIONS to the 7th/8th Boys' Soccer Team for winning the 2017 WESD Soccer Tournament!!!

Way to Go Eagles!


7/8 Girls Softball
Coach Jeff Shaw - jeff.shaw@wesdschools.org: 602-896-6137
                2017 Softball Schedule
 
4/4/17         MS @ PV
4/8/17        CH @ MS
4/11/17        BYE
4/13/17        MS @ DF
4/18/17        RP @ MS
4/20/17        PV @ MS
4/25/17        MS @ CH
4/27/17        BYE
5/2/17          DF @ MS
5/4/17          MS @ RP

WESD Softball Tournament @ Desert Foothills Middle School
5/8/17     4 v 5 seeds @ 4:45p
5/9/17    4/5 winner v 1 seed AND 2 v 3 seeds @ 4:45p
5/11/17  WESD Softball Championship Game @ 4:45p









7/8 Track & Field

WESD 7th and 8th TRACK & FIELD

Date

                  Home Team

Host High School

April 11, 2017

                        Cholla

Moon Valley H.S.

April 13, 2017

Royal Palm

Sunnyslope H.S.

April 27, 2017

Desert Foothills

Greenway H.S.

April 20, 2017

  Palo Verde

Cortez H.S.


         

 

May 11, 2017

WESD Track & Field Championship

(Jr. Highs, K-8)

Thunderbird H.S.

 

 

*Late bus available...

Fees and Admission 

Participation Fees

A participation fee of $25.00 will be assessed from each team member. No student shall be denied participation for lack of fee. These fees may be used to purchase team uniforms, replace practice or game equipment, hire officials, or pay tournament fees, or other expenses related to the activity.

Admission Fees

Each school will charge admission ($2 for adults and $1 for students grades 4-8) for athletic events. Admission fees will be used to cover costs of game officials.  Students/parents will be admitted to home and away games upon presentation of a valid sports activity card from any of the WESD middle schools.  Tournament admission is excluded from the parent Sports Activity Card.

Comments