Battle of the Books

Battle of the Books - April 16, 2016
Winterset Middle School
706 W. School St.

Arrive at Van Meter School by 8am on Saturday, April 16 so that we can take a bus to Winterset. Pool play will be 9am to noon. The top 16 teams will compete in the tournament in the afternoon. This should be finished by 4pm. 

We will have 1 hour for lunch. Winterset Middle School will have concessions and a bake sale items available for purchase. Students will need to bring money or a sack lunch. As a group, we will not be leaving Winterset Middle School for lunch. Parents are welcome to take their students elsewhere for lunch if they choose.

Parents and Family
Families are welcome to attend the battle. Please only enter the the room between rounds so that it does not interrupt play.

Please email me at if you have any questions.

Booklist for Battle of the Books 2015-2016

Crossover by Kwame Alexander

Almost Home by Joan Bauer

El Deafo by Cece Bell

The Family Romanov by Candace Fleming

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library by Chris Grabstein

A Tangle of Knots by Lisa Graff

The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch

The Great Trouble: A Myster of London, the Blue Death, and a Boy Called Eel by Deborah Hopkinson

See You at Harry's by Joanna Knowles

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle

Listening for Lucca by Suzanne LaFleur

Duke by Kirby Larson

The Boy on the Wooden Box: How the Impossible Became Possible on Schindler's List by Leon Leyson

Half a Chance by Cynthia Lord

QB 1  by Mike Lupica

Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin

Capture the Flag by Kate Messner

The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen

The Blood Guard by Carter Roy

Code of Silence by Tim Shoemaker

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg

King of the Mound: My Summer with Satchel Paige by Wes Tooke

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Crow by Barbara Wright