A Framework for Teaching

The Framework for Teaching is a research-based set of components of instruction, aligned to the INTASC standards, and grounded in a constructivist view of learning and teaching. The complex activity of teaching is divided into 22 components (and 76 smaller elements) clustered into four domains of teaching responsibility:

  1. Planning and Preparation
  2. Classroom Environment
  3. Instruction
  4. Professional Responsibilities

District class information:
Frameworks (1 credit class)  – The district now has only one Frameworks class.  This one-credit class will reflect the current changes being made in teacher evaluation.  Each participant will receive two books for the class by Charlotte Danielson:

1) Enhancing Professional Practice: A Framework for Teaching
2) The Handbook for Enhancing Professional Practice: Using the Framework for Teaching in 
Your School.  

The handbook demonstrates how the framework for teaching can be used to help the teacher understand the skills and knowledge that characterize distinguished teaching.
Note:  If you have taken the class several years ago and would like to take it again because of the new changes in the class, the section number has been changed to allow you to take  the course again for credit.