Vis International Commercial Arbitration Team

About the Competition:

The Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot is an annual moot court competition devoted to the resolution international commercial disputes through arbitration. Competitions occur around the end of March or the beginning of April in both Vienna and Hong Kong. The University of Washingtontypically alternates between competing in Vienna one year and Hong Kong the next year.

In the 2013 Vis West competition, 290 universities from 67 countries participated in the Moot. UW Law’s Vis team made the quarterfinals and Lauren Watts received the 2nd Place Oralists Award and Abby St. Hilaire and Brie Coyle tied for the 3rd Place Oralist Award.  Additionally, the team was awarded a brief award. 

The University of Washington first became involved in the Vis competition in 2006 through the efforts of two pioneering coaches, Professor Julia Gold and renowned arbitrator David E. Wagoner. Mr. Wagoner continues to coach the team with Professor Theodore Myhre, Alex Wu, Nicole Jabaily, Bradley Bowen, Dara Levinson and other former Vis Team members.


Our team meets approximately two times a week in preparation for oral arguments which runs from February until April. From October until January the team is devoted to researching, writing, and editing two briefs. The first brief is submitted in December, the second in January.

Time Commitment:

This is a two year commitment and requires approximately 4-5 hours per week from October through February for both your second and third years of law school. The time commitment increases as oral-argument practices become more frequent in the weeks leading up to the competition. The competition lasts approximately 10-11 days, so be prepared to miss a substantial amount of classes early on in Spring Quarter while the team competes in Vienna or Hong Kong.

Written Component:

1 Brief for Claimant, due in December; 1 Brief for Respondent, due in January 


David Wagoner, Alex Wu, Nicole Jabaily, Bradley Bowen, Shannon Lawless, Dara Levinson

And many other former team members and supporters!

How to Join the Team:

Tryouts for new oralists will take place in May 2015.

For More Information:

Contact Elisabeth Forsyth ( or Brooks Lindsay ( for questions about the team.

2014–2015 Members:

Mallory Bouchee
Alex Wisebey
Elisabeth Forsyth
Brooks Lindsay