1L Mock Trial Competition

1L Mock Trial Competition 

 November 3 – November 10, 2014

Competition Chairs:  
Jenna Zwang and Emily Elijah

The 1L Mock Trial Competition took place on November 3–10, 2014.  This competition gives 1Ls the opportunity to test and sharpen litigation skills.  Competitors conduct an entire trial from opening statements to closing arguments and have an opportunity to represent both the prosecution and defense.  In addition to acquiring and polishing trial advocacy skills, competitors will have an opportunity to join the Moot Court Honor Board.  

Additionally, participation in the 1L Mock Trial Competition is a category for selection to Order of the Barristers.  Students may apply for Order of the Barristers in the last quarter of their third year.  A faculty committee selects up to ten applicants for membership in the Order based on an outstanding participation in moot court events. 


Click HERE for a link to the podcasts and PowerPoint slides from the first training session on background law.

Click HERE for a link to the podcasts and PowerPoint slides from the second training session on opening and closing statements.

2014 1L Mock Trial Championship Results

Please join the Moot Court Honor Board in congratulating the award winners, competition finalists, and competition champions of the 2014 1L Mock Trial Competition!

Purple Bracket Champions:  

Kaleigh Boyd & Cole Lorimer

Purple Bracket Finalists:  

Michelle Rusk & Kelly Holler

Gold Bracket Champions:  

Chad Law & Jayme Staten

Gold Bracket Finalists:

Sophia Amberson & Marlana Kuper

Speaker Awards:

Best Speaker: Chad Law

Second Place Speaker: Sawyer Margett

Third Place Speaker: Marlana Kuper

2013 1L Mock Trial Championship Results

On Tuesday, November 12, 2013, the Moot Court Honor Board hosted the championship rounds of the 2013 1L Mock Trial Competition. The finalists argued skillfully before a distinguished panel of judges. Congratulations to all competitors!

Purple Bracket Champions:
Ben Nelson & Andrew H. Fuller

Purple Bracket Finalists:
Michael Gerbec & Andy Zehrung

Gold Bracket Champions:
Claire Carden & Brennen Johnson

Gold Bracket Finalists:
Spencer Gall & Andrew S. Fuller

Speaker Awards:
1st Place Speaker: Ben Nelson
2nd Place Speaker: Brennen Johnson
3rd Place Speaker: Patrick Moore

Purple Bracket Semifinalists:
Miriam Swedlow & Sarah Chaplin
Jeremy Wood & Tyler Lichter

Gold Bracket Semifinalists:
Cheryl Lee & Catherine Ann Moore
Jake Mallory & Patrick Moore