HCMP 1L Appellate Advocacy Competition

Results will be posted here as soon as possible after each round.

2015 Hillis Clark Martin & Peterson 1L Appellate Advocacy Competition 
May 11–18, 2015

Competition Committee: 
Spencer Gall
Brennen Johnson
Tomer Vandsburger

The Moot Court Honor Board is proud to announce the 2015 Hillis Clark Martin & Peterson 1L Appellate Advocacy Competition. Participants will write a brief and present an oral argument with a teammate, advancing past the preliminary rounds based on accumulated points. Five participants in the competition will receive invitations to joint Moot Court Honor Board and all participants will receive points for use in application to the Moot Court Honor Board through cumulative selection.

Registration is currently open. To register, please send an email to 2015hcmp1lappellate@gmail.com with: (1) Team member names and (2) Email addresses for both team members.  Registration is $50 per team. Please drop off your registration fee at the MCHB office. All checks must be made out to "UW School of Law"Participants will be issued team numbers and side (petitioner or respondent) once their entry fee has been paid and a Committee Member has processed the payment. The competition problem and competition rules are available for download at the bottom of this page.

Training Sessions:
Podcasts of training sessions are located here, they should become available within 24 hours of each session.

April 8 - General Information Session - 12:30 to 1:20 in Room 138, lunch provided.
The April 8 Prezi presentation is here.
April 15 - Training 1: Brief Writing Tips - 12:30 to 1:20 in Room 138.
The April 15th Powerpoint presentation is available here.
April 23 - Citation Training - presented by Jessica Erickson, Legal Writing Fellow - 12:30 to 1:20 in Room 133.
The April 23rd Powerpoint presentation and Citation Reference Sheet are available here. Podcast is here.
April 29 - Training 2: Oral Advocacy Skills - 12:30 to 1:20 in Room 138.
The April 29th Powerpoint presentation is available here.
May 4, 5, 7, and 8 - Practice Oral Rounds hosted by MCHB
May 6 - Training 3: Addressing Bias in the Courtroom / Competitions - 12:30 to 1:20 in Room 138, lunch provided.

Sample SCOTUS and Student Briefs:

Sample SCOTUS briefs can be downloaded here. Additionally, samples of student briefs from previous MCHB competitions are available for review in the MCHB office.  Feel free to stop by during office hours to view them.  Note: Student briefs must stay in the MCHB office, so all review must be done on-site.

Due Date for Brief Submissions:

May 1 at 5pm - 3 copies of your brief, with appropriately colored cover pages, must be turned in by 5:00 pm.  Penalties will be assessed against any submissions not received by 5:00 pm.

Competition Schedule - All arguments begin at 6:30 pm:
May 11-12 - Preliminary Rounds 

May 12 - Bracket Announcement Reception - All preliminary round scores will be released, and the teams advancing to elimination rounds will be announced. Food and beverage will be provided. The reception will begin shortly after rounds conclude.

May 13 - Quarterfinals

May 14 - Semi-finals

May 18 - Final Rounds - The final round of arguments will be judged by prestigious panels including sitting judges, prosecutors, and defense attorneys. An Awards Reception for participants, judges, and attendees will follow the conclusion of the final rounds.

Please contact any of the committee members listed above if you have questions about the competition. Additionally, if you are unsure about credits for competitions, rules, the MCHB selection process, or anything else, feel free to stop by during the following office hours. These hours will continue through the completion of the competition in mid-May:

Monday and Wednesday: 12:30 to 1:30, 3:30 to 5:00
Tuesday and Thursday: 9:00 to 5:00
Friday: 10:30 to 1:30, 3:30 to 5:00


Click HERE to access audio and video of the GOLD LADDER CHAMPIONSHIP ROUND from this competition.

Championship Round Results:

Gold Ladder

Champions: Spencer Gall & Andrew S. Fuller

Finalists: Maddie Haller & Courtney Schirr 

Purple Ladder

Champions: Weston LeMay & Tomer Vandsburger

Finalists: Maria Hoisington & Taylor Sproed

Brief Awards:

Best Brief: James Feldman & Brooks Lindsay

Second Place Brief: Maria Hoisington & Taylor Sproed

Third Place Brief: Weston LeMay and Tomer Vandsburger

Speaker Awards:

Gold Ladder

Best Speaker: Spencer Gall

Second Place Speaker: Courtney Schirr

Third Place Speaker: Andrew S. Fuller

Purple Ladder

Best Speaker: Weston LeMay

Second Place Speaker: Tomer Vandsburger

Third Place Speaker: Thomas Miller

Thank you so much to all of our competitors--and our sponsor, Hillis Clark Martin & Peterson--for a great competition!

Andrew S Fuller,
Apr 5, 2015, 10:37 PM
Andrew S Fuller,
Apr 7, 2015, 2:06 PM