The primary mission of the University of Washington Moot Court Honor Board is to assist law students in developing advocacy skills through practice and competition.

Announcements & Competition News

2015 HCMP 1L Appellate Advocacy Competition

The 2015 1L Appellate Advocacy Competition will take place between May 11th and May 18th.

Hillis Clark Martin & Peterson and the UW School of Law Moot Court Honor Board are pleased to invite all 1L students to the information session for the 1L Appellate Advocacy Competition. The session will take place on Wednesday, April 8th in Room 138, from 12:30 to 1:20. Lunch will be provided. 

At this info session the chairs of the competition will discuss competition logistics, scheduling, and requirements. The chairs will also answer questions about the competition. Registration for the competition will open immediately following the information session, and any questions throughout the quarter should be sent to:


All 1Ls are encouraged to attend!

MCHB Office Hours

The UW School of Law Moot Court Honor Board members invite all UW law students to bring any questions related to moot court activities to our office hours. If you are unsure about credits for competitions, rules, about the MCHB selection process, or would like to hear more about HCMP 1L App Ad competition feel free to stop by during the following office hours:

            Monday and Wednesday: 12:30 to 1:30, 3:30 to 5:00
            Tuesday and Thursday: 9:00 to 5:00
            Friday: 10:30 to 1:30, 3:30 to 5:00

These office hours will continue from tomorrow to the end of HCMP 1L App Ad competition in mid-May.

Please join the Moot Court Honor Board in congratulating the award winners, competition finalists, and competition champions of the 2014 1L Mock Trial Competition!

            Purple Bracket Champions:  Kaleigh Boyd and Cole Lorimer

            Purple Bracket Finalists:  Michelle Rusk and Kelly Holler

            Gold Bracket Champions:  Chad Law and Jayme Staten

            Gold Bracket Finalists:  Sophia Amberson and Marlana Kuper

            Best Speaker: Chad Law

            Second Place Speaker: Sawyer Margett

            Third Place Speaker: Marlana Kuper

Please join the Moot Court Honor Board in congratulating the award winners, competition finalists, and competition champions of the 2014 Peterson Wampold Rosato Luna Knopp 2L/3L Mock Trial Competition!

            Champions:  Matt Wurdeman and Dane Westermeyer

            Finalists:  Ben Nelson and Spencer Gall

            Best Speaker: Nick Ulrich

            Second Place Speaker: Matt Wurdeman

            Third Place Speaker: Dane Westermeyer

2014-15 In-House Competition Schedule

 If you have any questions about a specific competition, please talk with one of the committee chairs or email MCHB's VP of In-House Competitions, Steven Clark (smkeoni@gmail.com).

            Peterson Wampold Rosato Luna Knopp 2L/3L Mock Trial Competition

            Date: October 20-27, 2014

            Committee Chairs:  Kiry Nelson and Alex Wisbey

            1L Mock Trial Competition

            Date: November 3-10, 2014

            Committee Chairs: Jenna Zwang and Emily Elijah

            Falknor 2L/3L Appellate Advocacy Competition

            Date: January 26 - February 2, 2015

            Committee Chairs:  Jessica Erickson and VanVandenbos

            Mediation Representation

            Date: February 9 - February 17, 2015

            Committee Chair: Darin Jones

            Hillis Clark Martin & Peterson 1L Appellate Advocacy Competition

            Date: May 11-18, 2015

            Committee Chairs: Spencer Gall, Tomer Vandsburger, and Brennan Johnson

Please join the Moot Court Honor Board in congratulating the award winners, competition finalists, and competition champions of the 2014 HCMP 1L Appellate Advocacy Competition Competition.


            Championship Round Results:

            Gold Ladder

            Champions: Spencer Gall & Andrew S. Fuller

            Finalists: Maddie Haller & Courtney Schirr


            Purple Ladder

            Champions: Weston LeMay & Tomer Vandsburger

            Finalists: Maria Hoisington & Taylor Sproed 


            Brief Awards:

            Best Brief: James Feldman & Brooks Lindsay

            Second Place Brief: Maria Hoisington & Taylor Sproed

            Third Place Brief: Weston LeMay and Tomer Vandsburger


            Speaker Awards:

            Gold Ladder

            Best Speaker: Spencer Gall

            Second Place Speaker: Courtney Schirr

            Third Place Speaker: Andrew S. Fuller


            Purple Ladder

            Best Speaker: Weston LeMay

            Second Place Speaker: Tomer Vandsburger

            Third Place Speaker: Thomas Miller


If you are interested in becoming a member of the Moot Court Honor Board, visit the Admission page. 


Moot Court Honor Board
University of Washington 
School of Law
William H. Gates Hall
Box 353020
Seattle, WA 98195-3020


Angie Schleck, President,


Lauren Conner, VP Development, lconner24@gmail.com

Nicholas Ulrich, VP National Competitions, nrulrich@uw.edu


Steven Clark, VP In-House Competitions, smkeoni@gmail.com

Matt Wurdeman, VP Alumni Relations


Drew Duggin, VP Resources, drewduggin@hotmail.com

Anne Dorshimer, VP Finance, annedorshimer@gmail.com

Mike Kittleson, VP Judging, 


Malik Gbenro, VP of Technology, gbenromalik@gmail.com