Intro to Geography

The Earth has seven continents: 
          Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America. 
Our world is divided into four hemispheres (north, south, east, and west) by the imaginary lines called longitude and latitude.  Both latitude and longitude are measured in degrees.  Latitude lines run east-west (or horizontal) and are shown on a map every 10 degrees.  The Equator is the latitude line at 0 degrees.  Longitude lines run north-south on a map (or vertical) and are shown every 15 degrees.  The Prime Meridian is the longitude line at 0 degrees.  These imaginary lines of latitude and longitude are used to create an absolute or exact location.  When the numbers are given in pairs, latitude comes first and is followed by longitude.

Latitude & Longitude Practice
     Site I
     Site II
Geographers use other means of classifying an area geographically.  For example, countries with defined borders and one government are located within continents.  Most countries contain states, territories, or providences.
Students attending HWMS live on the continent of North America, in the country of the United States, in the state of Kansas, in Sedgwick County, in the city of Haysville or Wichita. 
Maps are used to show political boundaries and cities.  Physical maps are used to show the natural features of the Earth like rivers, mountains, deserts, etc.  Every map contains a key or legend.  This is usually a box with symbols or helpful information to make reading the map easier.