SD BRIN Five Year Grant Renewal
       August 2015

VERMILLION, S.D. (SD BRIN) — The National Institutes of Health have awarded South Dakota Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (SD BRIN) a five year grant renewal to support research infrastructure at higher education institutions.  In 2001, the federal government began a program to support less funded states, including 23 states and Puerto Rico.  That same year, SD BRIN was awarded its first grant of $2 million a year for three years.  After those first three years, a five year grant was awarded followed by another five year grant.  After a year on a one year interim grant, SD BRIN has been awarded a new five year grant.  Thus far, SD BRIN has been awarded $40.7 million.  The five year renewal will put the total to almost $55 million awarded to the state of South Dakota.

The University of South Dakota, as the lead institution, will receive about $1 million per year and SD BRIN's partner institutions will have access to about $1.5 million each year over the five year period.  The seven predominantly undergraduate institutions are:  Augustana College in Sioux Falls, Black Hill State University in Spearfish, Dakota Wesleyan University in Mitchell, Mount Marty College in Yankton, the University of Sioux Falls and tribal colleges Sisseton Wahpeton College in Sisseton on the Lake Traverse Reservation and Oglala Lakota College in Kyle on the Pine Ridge Reservation.  With the five year grant renewal, the partner institutions will be able to support research efforts of their faculty and students.

"The NIH realized that if you encouraged research learning at predominantly undergraduate institutions, then the likelihood of those students deciding to become research scientists in the future is really high because if they learn by doing research with close faculty mentorship, they are more likely to choose research careers", said director of SD BRIN, Dr. Barbara Goodman.