2021 Faculty Awards and Videos

We are pleased to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of UNCG faculty in teaching, research, mentoring, and service.  Due to COVID-19 we are unable to gather to celebrate the extraordinary contributions of the honorees but are nonetheless proud of their achievements.  Please join us in congratulating the award recipients listed below; this information will also be included in a full-page announcement in the Greensboro News & Record on Sunday, April 11, 2021.

Teaching Excellence Awards

Each year the university solicits nominations for three Alumni Teaching Excellence Awards, the UNCG Award for Excellence in Online Education, and the UNC System Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching.  A committee comprised of UNCG faculty and students selects recipients for the Alumni Teaching Excellence Awards as well as  UNCG’s nominee for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching (conferred by the Board of Governors Committee on Personnel and Tenure).  The UNC Greensboro Academy of Online Professors selects the recipient for the Award for Excellence in Online Education. 

UNC BOG Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr. Rebecca MacLeod, Professor, School of Music

Mary Settle Sharp Award for Teaching Excellence

Dr. Sarah Daynes, Professor, Dept. of Sociology

James Y. Joyner Award for Teaching Excellence

Dr. Sally Koerner, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Biology

Anna Maria Gove Award for Teaching Excellence

Ms. Kim Cuny, Senior Academic Professional, Dept. of Communication Studies

UNCG Online Award for Excellence in Online Education

Dr. Elizabeth Lewis, Visiting Assistant Professor, Dept. of Mathematics and Statistics


Instruction/Education Related Awards

Education is about more than what goes on inside the classroom. The awards shown below recognize excellence in mentoring, academic program assessment, and advising. The Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award from the Graduate School honors a full-time tenured faculty member with outstanding success in mentoring graduate students at the master’s or doctoral level.  The Thomas Undergraduate Research Mentor Award honors faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in the mentoring of UNCG undergraduate students in research or creative inquiry.  The Student Learning Enhancement Award honors departments, programs, or individual faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in academic program assessment leading to enhanced student learning.  The Advising Excellence Award honors a full-time faculty member with at least two years of service to UNCG who has demonstrated excellence in advising; student feedback is considered when selecting the recipient. 

Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award

Dr. Laurie Wideman, Safrit-Ennis Distinguished Professor, Dept. of Kinesiology

Thomas Undergraduate Research Mentor Award, Pre-tenured Category

Dr. Chris Wahlheim, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Psychology

Thomas Undergraduate Research Mentor Award, Post-tenured Category

Dr. Sharon Morrison, Professor, Dept. of Public Health Education

Dr. Sudha Shreeniwas, Associate Professor, Dept. of Human Development and Family Studies

Thomas Undergraduate Research Mentor Award, Non-tenured Category

Dr. Aileen Reid, Clinical Assistant Professor, Dept. of Educational Research Methodology

Student Learning Enhancement Awards

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Advising Excellence Award

Dr. Pamela Ladrow, Senior Lecturer, Dept. of Psychology


Service Leadership Awards

The service leadership awards are focused on service and academic leadership.  The Gladys Strawn Bullard Awards were established in 1981 as a gift to the university from Bern and Gladys Bullard.  The awards were named for Mrs. Bullard, a 1939 graduate of Women’s College, and were created to recognize members of the UNCG faculty, staff, and student body for outstanding leadership and service to the university.  The Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service was established by the UNCG Board of Governors in 2007 to encourage, identify, recognize, and reward public service.  The award recognizes those who have demonstrated distinguished service and sustained achievement in improving the quality of life for citizens of North Carolina.  Each of the 17 UNC system institutions may nominate one faculty member annually and the Board selects the winner from these nominees.  Today, we recognize UNCG’s 2020 nominee.  The O. Max Gardner Award is the highest faculty honor awarded by the UNC Board of Governors, given annually since 1949.  The award was established by Gardner’s will to recognize faculty who have “made the greatest contributions to the welfare of the human race.”  Those chosen in the past have made notable contributions of national or international scale. As with the Holshouser Award, each UNC System campus nominates one faculty member annually, and the Board selects the winner from the nominees.  Today, we recognize UNCG’s 2020 nominee. 

Gladys Strawn Bullard Award

Dr. Rebecca Adams, Professor, Gerontology Program

Holshouser Award for Excellence in Public Service Nominee

Dr. Stephen Sills, Professor, Dept. of Sociology

O. Max Gardner Nominee

Dr. Omar Ali, Dean, Lloyd International Honors College


Research Excellence Awards

The research excellence awards were established to recognize the outstanding research and creative accomplishments of UNCG faculty.  The Senior Research Excellence Award is conferred based on research career accomplishments, especially achievements within the past five years.  It is presented to a full-time faculty member at the rank of professor.  Faculty at the rank of assistant or associate professor are eligible to receive the Junior Research Excellence Award, which is primarily based on work at UNCG within the past five years. 

Senior Research Excellence Award

Dr. Jennifer Etnier, Julia Taylor Morton Distinguished Professor, Dept. of Kinesiology

Junior Research Excellence Award

Dr. Gabriela Livas Stein, Professor, Dept. of Psychology 

Faculty Excellence in Research & Creative Activity

Please also join us in honoring individuals recognized by their units as achieving Faculty Excellence in Research and Creative Activity in 2020.  The award recipients are listed here.


Video Segments

A special thank you to Michael Frierson and the students in the Client-Based Media Production course who created video segments to recognize honorees.  These videos illustrate how the accomplished faculty recognized today embody the UNCG spirit through daily, intentional efforts and through innovation, creativity, and dedication.  You can access the videos here.
Subpages (1): Videos