home‎ > ‎

The Hawthornden Prize

The Hawthornden Prize

The oldest of the major British literary prizes was founded in 1919 by Miss Alice Warrender. It is awarded annually to an English writer for "the best work of imaginative literature," which is liberally interpreted and thus may include biography, travel, art history, etc, as well as fiction and drama. There is no competition; books do not have to be, and in fact cannot be, submitted. A panel of judges decides the winner. Young authors are particularly encouraged. The current value of the prize is £10,000.

1919Edward Shanks The Queen of China
1920John Freeman Poems Old and New
1921Romer Wilson The Death of Society
1922Edmund Blunden The Shepherd
1923David Garnett Lady Into Fox
1924Ralph Hale Mottram This Spanish Farm
1925Sean O'Casey Juno and the Paycock
1926Victoria Sackville-West The Land
1927Henry Williamson Tarka the Otter
1928Siegfried Sassoon Memoirs of a Fox-Hunting Man
1929Lord David Cecil The Stricken Deer
1930Geoffrey Dennis The End of the World
1931Kate O'Brien Without My Cloak
1932Charles Morgan The Fountain
1933Victoria Sackville-West Collected Poems
1934James Hilton Lost Horizon
1935Robert Graves I, Claudius
1936Evelyn Waugh Edmund Campion
1937Ruth Pitter A Trophy of Arms
1938David Jones In Parenthesis
1939Christopher Hassall Penthesperon
1940James Pope-Hennessy London Fabric
1941Graham Greene The Power and the Glory
1942John Llewllyn Rhys England is My Village
1943Sidney Keyes The Cruel Solstice and The Iron Laurel
1944Martyn Skinner Letters to Malaya
No award
1958Dom Moraes A Beginning
No Award
1960Alan Sillitoe The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner
1961Ted Hughes Lupercal
1962Robert Shaw The Sun Doctor
1963Alistair Horne The Price of Glory: Verdun 1916
1964V. S. Naipaul Mr. Stone and the Knights Companions
1965William Trevor The Old Boys
No Award
1967Michael Frayn The Russian Interpreter
1968Michael Levey Early Renaissance
1969Geoffrey Hill King Log
1970Piers Paul Read Monk Dawson
No Award
1974Oliver Sacks Awakenings
1975David Lodge Changing Places
1976Robert Nye Falstaff
1977Bruce Chatwin In Patagonia
1978David Cook Walter
1979P. S. Rushforth Kindergarten
1980Christopher Reid Arcadia
1981Douglas Dunn St. Kilda's Parliament
1982Timothy Mo Sour Sweet
1983Jonathan Keates Allegro Postillions
No Award
1988Colin Thubron Behind the Wall
1989Alan Bennett Talking Heads
1990Kit Wright Short Afternoons
1991Claire Tomalin The Invisible Woman
1992Ferdinand Mount Of Love and Asthma
1993Anderw Barrow The Tap Dancer
1994Tim Pears In the Place of Fallen Leaves
1995James Michie The Collected Poems
1996Hilary Mantel An Experiment in Love
1997John Lanchester The Debt to Pleasure
1998Charles Nicholl Somebody Else
1999Antony Beevor, Stalingrad
2000Michael Longley, The Weather in Japan
2001Helen Simpson, Hey Yeah Right Get a Life
2002Eamon Duffy, The Voices of Morebath
2003William Fiennes, The Snow Geese
2004Jonathan Bate, John Clare: A Biography
2005Justin Cartwright, The Promise of Happiness
2006Alexander Masters, Stuart: A Life Backwards
2007M. J. Hyland, Carry Me Down
2008Nicola Barker, Darkmans
2009Patrick French, The World Is What It Is

Back to Prizes Home Page