home‎ > ‎

Guardian Fiction Prize


Awarded since 1965 by the Guardian, this prize is worth £10,000 to the winner. The selection is made by a panel of critics and writers, chaired by the Literary Editor of the Guardian. This is the oldest and best-established of the awards sponsored by a newspaper; sponsorship by one newspaper has a somewhat negative effect on publicity since other newspapers are less willing to publicize the winner than they are for prizes such as the Booker or Somerset Maugham which are underwritten by businesses or endowments and administered by the Book Trust or Society of Authors. In 1999 the prize was altered. It is now the Guardian First Book Award, and is no longer restricted to fiction.

1965Clive Barry, Crumb Borne
1966Archie Hind, The Dear Green Place
1967Eva Figes, Winter Journey
1968P. J. Kavanagh, A Song and a Dance
1969Maurice Leitch, Poor Lazarus
1970Margaret Blount, Where Did You Last See your Father?
1971Thomas Kilroy, The Big Chapel
1972John Berger, G
1973Peter Redgrove, In the Country of the Skin
1974Beryl Bainbridge, The Bottle Factory Outing
1975Sylvia Clayton, Friends and Romans
1976Robert Nye, Falstaff
1977Michael Moorcock, The Condition of Muzak
1978Neil Jordan, Night in Tunisia
1979Dambudzo Merechera, The House of Hunger
1980J. L. Carr, A Month in the Country
1981John Banville, Kepler
1982Glyn Hughes, Where I Used to Play on the Green
1983Graham Swift, Waterland
1984J. G. Ballard, Empire of the Sun
1985Peter Ackroyd, Hawksmoor
1986Jim Crace, Continent
1987Peter Benson, The Levels
1988Lucy Ellman, Sweet Desserts
1989Carol Lake, Rosehill: Portrait from a Midlands City
1990Pauline Melville, Shape-Shifter
1991Alan Judd, The Devil's Own Work
1992Alasdair Gray, Poor Things
1993Pat Barker, The Eye in the Door
1994Candia McWilliam, Debatable Land
1995James Buchan, Heart's Journey in Winter
1996Seamus Deane, Reading in the Dark
1997Anne Michaels, Fugitive Pieces
1998Jackie Kay, Trumpet
1999Philip Gourevitch, We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow 
We Will be Killed with Our Families
 2000Zadie Smith, White Teeth
 2001Chris Ware, Jimmy Corrigan, or the Smartest Kid on Earth
 2002Jonathan Safran Foer, Everything Is Illuminated
 2003Robert MacFarlane, Mountains of the Mind
 2004Armand Marie Leroi, Mutants: On the Form, Varieties and Errors of the Human Body
2005Alexander Master, Stuart: A Life Backwards
2006Yiyun Li, A Thousand Years of Good Prayers
2007Dinaw Mengestu, Children of the Revolution
2008Aravind Adiga, The White Tiger
2009Petina Gappah, An Elegy for Easterly