home‎ > ‎

British Book Awards

Organized by Publishing News, the British Book Awards (now known as the Galaxy British Book Awards) are oriented toward the book trade, members of which provide the nominations. They are popularly known as the "Nibbies." There are a great many categories, including such (not listed here) as Publisher of the Year, Chain Bookseller of the Year, Display Creations In-Store MarketingAward, and Editor of the Year. Moreover, the categories, including their sponsorships, change frequently. As of 2005 there is an author of the year and a writer of the year. There is a Richard and Judy Best Read of the Year (Richard and Judy are hosts of a television show); in 2005 the "best read" was David Mitchell's Cloud Atlas, which also won the Waterstone's Literary Fiction Award. It is very difficult to keep up with these awards and I recommend that you consult the website at the British Book Awards home page , which gives a fuller account.

Author of the Year
1990HRH the Prince of Wales
1991Peter Ackroyd
1992Peter Mayle
1993Andrew Morton
1994Roddy Doyle
1995Sebastian Faulks
1996Salman Rushdie
1997Bill Bryson
1998Louis de Bernieres
1999Beryl Bainbridge
2000J. K. Rowling
2001Nigella Lawson
2002Philip Pullman
2003Sarah Waters
2004Alexander McCall Smith
2005Sheila Hancock
2006Alan Bennett
2007Richard Dawkins
2008Ian McEwan
2009Aravind Adiga

Book of the Year

1994Jung Chang, Wild Swans
1995Alan Bennett, Writing Home
1996Delia Smith, Delia Smith's Winter Collection
1997Dava Sobel, Longitude
1998Helen Fielding, Bridget Jones's Diary
1999Ted Hughes, Birthday Letters
2000Alex Ferguson, Managing My Life
2001Tony Parsons, Man and Boy
2002Pamela Stephenson, Billy
2003Michael Moore, Stupid White Men
2004Lynne Truss, Eats, Shoots and Leaves
2005Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code
2006J.K.Rowling, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
2007Conn and Hal Iggulden, The Dangerous Book for Boys
2008Ian McEwan, On Chesil Beach
2009Kate Summerscale, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher
2010Ian McEwan, On Chesil Beach

The Lifetime Achievement Award

1993Dr. D. G. Hossayon
1994Catherine Cookson
1995Delia Smith
1996Wilbur Smith
1997Paul Scherer
1998Jilly Cooper
1999Maeve Binchy
2000Spike Milligan
2001Ernest Hecht
2002Mark Barty-King
2003Alan Bennett
2004Sir David Attenborough
2005Sir John Mortimer
2006Jamie Oliver
2007John Grisham
2008J. K. Rowling

Newcomer of the Year Award
2000Chris Stewart, Driving Over Lemons
2001Zadie Smith, White Teeth
2002Pete McCarthy, McCarthy's Bar
2003Allison Pearson, I Don't Know How She Does It
2004 Monica Ali, Brick Lane
2005 Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
2006Marina Lewycka, A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian
2007Victoria Hislop, The Island
2008Catherine O'Flynn, What Was Lost
2009Tom Rob Smith, Child 44

Link to Galaxy British Book Awards site

Back to Prizes Home Page