Group Members‎ > ‎

Gunda Georg

Professor Gunda I. Georg
Professor and Department Head
Robert Vince Endowed Chair
McKnight Presidential Chair
Positions Held:
  • 2012-present      Co-Editor-in-Chief for the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2007-present      Head and Professor. Department of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Minnesota
  • 2007-present      Director, Institute for Therapeutics Discovery and Development, University of Minnesota
  • 2007-present      Robert Vince Endowed Chair, University of Minnesota
  • 2007-present      McKnight Presidential Chair, University of Minnesota
  • 2007-present      Affiliate Senior Member Appointment in the Department of Chemistry Graduate Program
  • 2007-present      Member, Masonic Cancer Center University of Minnesota
  • 2004-2006            Director, Center for Drug Discovery, Higuchi Biosciences Center
  • 1999-2006      University Distinguished Professor, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas
  • 1999-2006      Director, Kansas Masonic Cancer Research Institute, Experimental Therapeutics Program
  • 1997-2004      Director, Drug Discovery Program, Higuchi Biosciences Center
  • 1996-2006      Courtesy Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Kansas
  • 1994-2006            Professor, Medicinal Chemistry, School of Pharmacy, University of Kansas
  • 1989-1994            Associate Professor, Medicinal Chemistry, School of Pharmacy, University of Kansas
  • 1984-1989            Assistant Professor, Medicinal Chemistry, School of Pharmacy, University of Kansas
  • 1983-1984            Assistant Professor, Medicinal Chemistry, School of Pharmacy, University of Rhode Island, Kingston, R.I.
Postdoctoral Experience:
  • 1981-1983 Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Ottawa, Department of Chemistry, Ottawa, Canada, Studies directed by Professor T. Durst. Topic: Synthesis of beta-lactam antibiotics.
  • 1980-1981 Postdoctoral Fellowship, Philipps Universität Marburg, Institut für Pharmazeutische Chemie, Germany: Studies directed by Professor M. Haake. Topic: Synthesis of new S-imides as chemotherapeutic agents against mycobacterium leprae.
Other Research Experience:
  • 1975-1980 Graduate Student and teaching assistant, Philipps Universität Marburg, Institut für Pharmazeutische Chemie, Germany. Studies directed by Professor M. Haake. Topic: Amido-, amino- and alkoxy-alkylation of sulfilimines and sulfurdiimides.
  • 1980, Ph.D., Medicinal Chemistry, Philipps Universität Marburg, Germany
  • 1975, Licensed as Pharmacist
  • 1975, B.S., Pharmacy, Philipps Universität Marburg, Germany
Professional Memberships:
  • American Chemical Society
    • Division of Medicinal Chemistry
    • Division of Organic Chemistry
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • American Association for Cancer Research
  • International Society of Heterocyclic Chemistry
  • Deutsche Pharmazeutische Gesellschaft
  • Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker
    • Division of Medicinal Chemistry
  • American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists
  • Iota Sigma Pi
  • Phi Lambda Upsilon
  • Phi Beta Kappa
Awards, Honors, & Named Lectures

2015 Karcher-Barton-Aldrich Award Lecture, The University of Oklahoma, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

2015 Nieuwland Lectureship, Department of Chemistry, Notre Dame University

2014 Avis Distinguished Lecturer, College of Pharmacy, University of Tennessee

2013 Ernest H. Volwiler Research Achievement Award of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

2013 Academy for Excellence in Health Research. Academic Health Center University of Minnesota

2013 Elected Fellow of the American Chemical Society

2013 International Chair of Therapeutic Innovation, Paris, France (LERMIT)

2012 Harmon Lecture, Western Michigan University

2010 Henry A. Lardy Lecture, South Dakota State University

2010 Sosnovsky Distinguished Lectureship, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2008 Distinguished Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship in the Department of Pharmacological and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Houston     
                College of Pharmacy

2007 McKnight Presidential Chair, University of Minnesota

2005 Loyd E. Harris Lecture, School of Pharmacy, University of Oklahoma

2005 Taito O. Soine Lecture in Medicinal Chemistry, University of Minnesota

2005 George Lesher Lecture in Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Rensselear Polytechnic Institute

2001 Nolan and Gloria Sommer Award, Department of Chemistry, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

2000 Sato Memorial International Award of the Pharmaceutical Society of Japan

2000 Volwiler Lecturer, Abbott Laboratories

1999 Kansas University Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

1998 A. Nelson Voldeng Memorial Lecture (MALTO)

1998 University of Kansas Excellence in Teaching Award

1997 University of Kansas Higuchi/Endowment Research Achievement Award: Olin K. Petefish Award in Basic Sciences

1996 AAAS Fellow

1995 Zeneca Lecturer, Department of Medicinal Chemistry University of Michigan

1992 University of Kansas Women's Hall of Fame

Editorial Boards of Journals and Books
  • The Journal of Organic Chemistry (2002-present)
  • ACS Letters in Medicinal Chemistry (2009-present)
  • Editor: Topics in Medicinal Chemistry (2008-present), Series Editor (Springer)
  • Letters in Organic Chemistry (2006-2010)
  • Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry, and Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Letters (2006-2011)
  • Combinatorial Chemistry & High Throughput Screening (2003-2008)
  • Medicinal Research Reviews (1998-2009)
  • The Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (2000-2005)
  • American Chemical Society Books Department (1995-1998)
  • Guest Editor, Bioorg. Med. Chem. Letters, Recent Advances in the Chemistry and Biology of beta-Lactams and beta-Lactam Antibiotics (1993)
  • Chirality (1988-1992)
Scientific Advisory Boards
  • Purdue Cancer Center Drug Discovery (2013-present)
  • NIH COBRE Center for Protease Research North Dakota State University (2007-2013)
  • Tapestry Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Bolder, CO, Scientific Advisory Board (2004-2006)
  • NaPro Biotherapeutics, Inc., Scientific Advisory Board, Bolder, CO (1997-2004)
  • School of Pharmacy, University of Missouri, Kansas City, Research Development Council (1997-2003)
  • The Institute for the Study of Aging, New York (1999-2002)
  • ProQuest, Inc., Scientific Advisory Board (1997-2004)