Faculty Excellence Awards

Scholar of the College

Questions regarding the College of Liberal Arts Scholar of the College program should be directed to the Office of Faculty and Academic Affairs, 612-624-9839.



2016/17 Scholar of the College
Nominations Due January 25, 2017




The Scholar of the College award is presented annually by the College of Liberal Arts to recognize and celebrate outstanding achievement by faculty in the college. Scholars of the College are chosen on the basis of past accomplishments and contributions in the areas of scholarly research or other creative work, teaching, and service, and the promise of further achievement. Scholars of the College receive a stipend totaling $10,000 per year for three years to support their research or creative work.

Scholars of the College are faculty members whose scholarship and/or creative work has had, and continues to have, a significant impact on their field(s). They are scholars who have taken intellectual risks and whose research/ creative work has achieved a high level of distinction, and has transformed, or promises to transform, the ways in which knowledge is constructed in a particular discipline or set of disciplines. Past recipients of the Scholar of the College award include some of CLA's most distinguished and accomplished scholars and artists.


Scholars of the College are selected by the College of Liberal Arts from a pool of candidates consisting of tenured CLA faculty whose work was found to be especially meritorious in the annual merit evaluations, or who were promoted to the rank of professor or associate professor in the immediately preceding year. Each department also may nominate a single tenured member of the department by submitting a brief nomination statement from the chair/director, describing the achievements and contributions of the nominee in their field(s).


Nominations for the 2016 Scholar of the College awards are due no later than Wednesday, January 25, 2016. Nomination letters from the unit chair/director must be submitted electronically to clafclty@umn.edu.


For a complete list of historical Scholar of the College Awards, please visit the College of Liberal Arts Distinguished Faculty Webpage.