Publications‎ > ‎

MUSA 8 - Lou Harrison

Lou Harrison
Keyboard and Chamber Music, 1937–1994
Edited by Leta Miller

A collection of seven works for chamber ensemble or keyboard solo spanning over fifty years: (1) France 1917-Spain 1937 (string quartet, 2 percussion), 1937-68; (2) Tributes to Charon (percussion trio), 1939-82; (3) Praises for Michael the Archangel (organ solo), 1947; (4) Vestiunt Silve (soprano, flute, 2 violas, harp), 1951-94; (5) Cinna (tack pianosolo), 1955-57; (6) Varied Trio (violin, piano, percussion), 1987; (7) Grand Duo (violin, piano), 1988. The prefatory essay explores, through the lens of these seven works, the sources of Harrison's syncretic style, focusing on its diverse aesthetic components: percussion, Asian music, gamelan, medieval music, the French baroque, melody, tuning systems, instrument building, and politics. Interwoven biographical material is based in part on the author's book, "Lou Harrison: Composing a World" (Oxford University Press, 1998). 

Preview on Google Books

PDFs of samples from this volume

table of contents and pricing information

Review of this Volume

Nicholls, David. Review of Selected Keyboard and Chamber Music, 1937-1994 by Lou Harrison. Edited by Leta E. Miller. Notes 56, no. 3 (2000): 774-776.