Science of Broadening Participation Workshop, 2008


The National Science Foundation-sponsored workshop, "A Science of Broadening Participation (D. Sekaquaptewa, PI)," was held at the National Science Foundation on June 23-24, 2008.  This website includes information about the Workshop. 

Materials from the Workshop, including presentation slides, are available under the "NSF Workshop Materials" link at the left.

Description of the Workshop 

Research across the social, behavioral, and economic sciences has shown that access, inclusion and retention for ethnic minorities and women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields continues to be well below their proportional representation in the United States.  However, we noted that researchers across fields in the social, behavioral, and economic sciences have been accumulating a mass of research evidence and information on this issue, from their differing perspectives.  Therefore, we convened this workshop to begin a conversation amongst representatives from the SBE fields about a vision of a Science of Broadening Participation.  A science of broadening participation would employ a variety of theoretical and methodological approaches to answer research questions related to issues of access, inclusion, and retention in STEM fields including the role that organizations and institutions play in structuring incentives and rewards for the promotion of science. 

Invited Workshop Participants

Elijah Anderson, Department of Sociology, Yale University, elijah.anderson@yale.edu

Marc Bendick, Bendick and Egan Economic Consultants, Inc., Washington DC, bendickegan@mindspring.com 

H. Russell Bernard, Department of Anthropology, University of Florida, ufruss@ufl.edu

Rebecca Bigler, Department of Psychology, University of Texas-Austin, bigler@psy.utexas.edu

Anne Charity, Department of English Language and Literature, College of William and Mary, acharity@wm.edu

Donna Christian, President, Center for Applied Linguistics, dchristian@cal.org

Faye Crosby, Department of Psychology, University of California-Santa Cruz, fjcrosby@ucsc.edu

Ron Eglash, Department of Science and Technology Studies, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, eglash@rpi.edu

Mark Hernandez, Department of Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering, University of Colorado-Boulder, mark.hernandez@colorado.edu

Vincent L. Hutchings, Department of Political Science and Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan, vincenth@umich.edu

Ann Kingsolver, Department of Anthropology, University of South Carolina, aekingso@gwm.sc.edu

Corinne Kirchner, Sociomedical Sciences and Sociology, Columbia University and American Foundation for the Blind, ck12@columbia.edu 

Judith Kroll, Department of Psychology, Pennsylvania State University, jfk7@psu.edu

Alison Konrad, School of Business, University of Western Ontario, akonrad@ivey.uwo.ca

Victoria Lawson, Department of Geography, University of Washington, lawson@u.washington.edu

Helen Longino, Department of Philosophy, Stanford University, hlongino@stanford.edu

Samuel R. Lucas, Department of Sociology, University of California-Berkeley, lucas@demog.berkeley.edu

Ali Modarres, College of Natural & Social Sciences, California State University-Los Angeles, amodarr@calstatela.edu

Mary Margaret (Peggy) Overbey, Understanding Race and Human Variation Project, American Anthropological Association, peggy.overbey@gmail.com

Donna Nelson, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Oklahoma, djnelson@ou.edu

Dianne Pinderhughes, Department of Political Science, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, dpinderh@nd.edu

Ruth Delois Peterson, Department of Sociology, Ohio State University, Peterson.5@sociology.osu.edu

Victoria Plaut, Department of Psychology, University of Georgia, vplaut@uga.edu

Quinetta Roberson, ILR (Industrial & Labor Relations) School, Cornell University, qmr3@cornell.edu

Joni Seager, Department of Geography, CUNY Hunter College, jseager@hunter.cuny.edu

Denise Sekaquaptewa, Department of Psychology, University of Michigan, dsekaqua@umich.edu