Hope Studies Graduate Students (Current and Completed)

Rachel King, Ph.D. Student (SSRHCDoctoral Fellowship)
Topic: The Role of Hope in Successful Transitions from Foster Care
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen
Email:
rachelk@ualberta.ca

Dorit Redlich-Amirav, Ph.D. Student (Occupational Therapy)
Topic: Hope in OT Treatment of Families with a Child with Mental Illness
Supervisors: Dr. Liz Taylor & Dr. Denise Larsen

Kristine Iaboni, Ph.D. Student (SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship)
Topic: A Grounded Theory of Hope and Hopeful Experiences in Children
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen 
Email: 
iaboni@ualberta.ca

Natasha Egeli, Ph.D. Candidate (Vanier Canadian Institutes of Health Research Graduate Scholarship)
Topic: Experiences of Hope and Vulnerability During Family Therapy Reflecting Teams
Project Supervisors: Dr. Denise Larsen & Dr. Sophie Yohani

Keri Flesaker, Ph.D. Candidate (SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship)
Topic: Stories of Being and Becoming: Hope, Meaning, and Identity in the Worklife Accounts of Reintegration Counsellors
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen
Email: 
flesaker@ualberta.ca 

Novjyot (Joti) Brar, Ph.D. Candidate (SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship)
Topic: Experiences of Hope and Vulnerability During Family Therapy Reflecting Teams
Project Supervisors: Dr. Denise Larsen & Dr. Sophie Yohani
Email: 
novjyotj@ualberta.ca

Joan Ewasiw, Ph.D. Candidate
Topic: Exploring Meaning and Purpose in Life and Hope with Nonclinical Older Adults
Co-supervisors: Dr. Denise Larsen and Dr. Sophie Yohani 
Email: 
ewasiw@ualberta.ca 

Lauren Johnson, Ph.D. Candidate (SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship), 2013
Topic: A Videographic Inquiry into Hope and Unplanned Pregnancy
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen 
Email: 
jljohnson@ualberta.ca

Sherry Antonucci, Ph.D., 2014 
Topic: Adult Male Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse: Narratives of Struggle and Hope
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen 
Email: 
sherryrodrigues@hotmail.com 

Yi Li, Ph.D., Post-doctoral Fellow in Hope Research, 2008
Presently Associate Professor, University of Manitoba 
Topic: The Experience of Hope for Newcomer High School Students From China 
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen 
Email: 
dr_yi_li@umanitoba.ca

Kathryn Holleran (Thompson), Ph.D., 2007 
Topic: “Meaningful Matters”: An Auto-ethnography of Hope with Gifted High School Students
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen 
Email: 
holleran@rogers.ca 

Greg Harris, Ph.D., 2006 (Canadian Institutes of Health Research Doctoral Fellowship)
Presently Associate Professor, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Topic: Hope and the High Risk Period following HIV diagnosis 
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen 
Email: 
gharris@mun.ca

Shelly Bernard, Ph.D., 2005 
Topic: Hope Engendering Interactions during Doctoral Research Projects 
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen

Kenneth Murdoch, M.Ed., Student (SSRHC Master’s Award)
Topic: The Experience and Role of Hope for Workers Helping Street Involved Youth
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen

Rachel King, M.Ed. (SSHRC Masters’ Award), 2014
Topic: Adolescent Girls’ Accounts of Hope
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen
Email: 
rachelk@ualberta.ca

Gayle Sacuta, Master of Library and Information Studies, 2013
Topic: Hope and Librarianship
Email: 
sacuta@ualberta.ca

Jesse McElheran, M.Ed., 2012
Topic: Time perspective and hope
Supervisor: Dr. William Whelton
Email: 
jesse.mcelheran@ualberta.ca 

Soraya Lakhani, M.Ed., 2012
Topic: Hope within refugee parent-child relationships
Supervisor: Dr. Sophie Yohani
Email: 
sorayalakhani@gmail.com

Lisa Blysma (Okoye), M.E., 2010
Topic: Changes in hope during skilled worker immigrants' early settlement in Canada
Supervisor: Dr. Sophie Yohani
Email: 
lisa.bylsma@hotmail.com

Keri Flesaker, M.Ed., 2007 (SSHRC Masters Scholarship)
Topic: Topic: Experiences of Hope for Transition Counsellors Working with Recently Paroled Women
Supervisor: Dr. Denise Larsen 
Email: 
flesaker@ualberta.ca 

Judy Sillito, M.Ed., 2005
Topic: Images and Stories of Hope: Understanding Hope and Transformation with Adult ESL Learners and Teachers
Supervisor: Dr. Carolin Kreber 

Kelti Barsan, M.Ed., 2005
Topic: The Relationship Between Hope and Therapeutic Alliance in the Counselling Process 
Supervisor: Dr. Barbara Paulson 
Email: 
kelti@ualberta.ca 

Sophie Yohani, Ph.D., 2004 
Presently Associate Professor, University of Alberta 
Topic: Hope and Child Refugees from War-Torn Countries 
Co-supervisors: Dean Fern Snart and Dr. Nancy Gibson 
Email: 
sophie.yohani@ualberta.ca

Callum E. Cooper, Ph.D. Candidate (expected 2015), Psychology Division, University of Northampton, UK
Topic: Post-Death Experiences and the Emotion of Hope: An Examination of Bereavement and Recovery
Supervisors: Prof Chris Roe & Dr Graham Mitchell
Email: 
Callum.Cooper@northampton.ac.uk