Undergraduate Student Research Awards

Undergraduate Research Awards Deadline for Application: January 31, 2014 Notification of winners: March 5, 2014 Trinity University’s Coates Library is proud to host the fifth annual Trinity Undergraduate Student Research Awards Program. This program intends to recognize undergraduate students who exhibit outstanding achievement in the use of library and information sources and demonstrate the goals of the QEP: Understand, Access, Evaluate, Use Ethically, and Create. Awards will be as follows:
  • One award of $1000
  • Two awards of $500
  • Two awards of $100
  • One award of $250 for a project or paper specifically for first-year students
Eligibility: Individuals must be current Trinity students. All undergraduates are eligible to submit work completed in 2013. The paper or project must also have been completed as part of a credit-bearing course at Trinity University. Work completed in all disciplines is eligible as long as the final product demonstrates use of library and information resources and contains evidence of the QEP goals. Application Procedure: Applicants must submit the following (electronically):
  1. Application cover sheet.
  2. A letter of recommendation from the teaching faculty member (email submission to bharris@trinity.edu).
  3. A 750-1000 word essay describing the research process and strategies. Please include descriptions of library and information tools utilized to complete the project.
  4. A final version of the research project. If this cannot be submitted electronically, please contact Benjamin Harris, bharris@trinity.edu
    • a. Written projects will be judged based on quality, not quantity. However, submissions are expected to be a minimum of 8 pages in length. Submissions for the first-year student awards should be a minimum of 5 pages in length.
    • b. Digital project submissions should include a printout of the first page of the project along with the paper application components and then make arrangements to deliver the project on a DVD or CD.
  5. A final bibliography must be included regardless of project format.
  6. Please submit your materials by Jan 31, 2014, to bharris@trinity.edu
Additional Submission Rules:
  • Incomplete or late submissions will not be accepted.
  • Applications will not be returned.
  • Individuals with winning submissions must agree to contribute their projects to the permanent collections of the Trinity University Digital Commons and the university’s special collections.
  • Award winners will present their work at the spring student showcase.
Evaluation Criteria: Successful projects will:
  • Demonstrate sophistication, originality, and depth in use of library resources and evaluation of information resources.
  • Demonstrate sophistication and variety in terms of the number of resources accessed in the creation of the project.
  • Demonstrate ethical use of information.
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the appropriate information resources necessary for successful research.
  • Demonstrate original thought and mastery of content appropriate to class level in the creation of the final product.
Evaluation Committee: Trinity University’s Information Literacy Committee, responsible for the execution of the Quality Enhancement Plan, will evaluate and judge all submissions in consultation with the appropriate professional librarians, depending on submissions and liaison duties. Award Notification and Disposition:
  • Winners will be notified no later than March 5, 2014.
  • In the event of group project submissions, the award will be split equally among all group members.
  • Please note that depending on the recipient’s enrollment status and income, the Research Award constitutes taxable income and must be reported as such to the IRS.
  • Recipients will be acknowledged at a luncheon with sponsoring faculty members and the Information Literacy Committee members.
See award-winning papers from previous years on Trinity University's Digital Commons Trinity University acknowledges the research programs at Rice University, University of Oregon, and Emory University and thanks them for the format for this award process.