Town Clerk


 
 
 

Barbara Geaghan

Town Clerk /Treasurer/Deputy Tax Collector/Registrar of Voters/Informational Officer 

Mary Vogel

Deputy Clerk/Deputy Registrar/Tax Collector/Assistant G.A. Administrator/Executive Secretary to  Selectboard/ BMV Agent   

Brittany Michelle

Deputy Clerk/Deputy Registrar/Deputy Tax Collector/Planning Board Secretary/IF&W Agent

 207-495-2258 207-495-2258 207-495-2258

 bgeaghan@townofbelgrade.com

 mvogel@townofbelgrade.com

bmichelle@townofbelgrade.com

Town Clerk FAQ

What do I need to bring to register my car?

If you have purchased a NEW car from an out-of-state Dealer:

  • The window sticker or the Monroney Label for the MSRP (Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price).
  • Bill of Sale.
  • Title/Certificate of Origin or Blue Title Application.
  • Proof of Insurance for new vehicle.
  • Old registration from your vehicle traded or sold (for credit, if applicable).

If you have purchased a USED car from an out-of-state Dealer:

  • All of the above, EXCEPT the window sticker.

If you have purchased a NEW car from a Maine Dealer:

  • All of the above, PLUS form showing sale tax being paid.

If you have purchased a USED car from a Maine Dealer:

  • All of the above, EXCEPT the window sticker, PLUS form showing sales tax being paid.

If you have purchased a new or used (1995 or newer model) car from a private party (in Maine or out-of-state):

  • Bill of Sale.
  • Title (1995 and NEWER).
  • Proof of Insurance.
  • Old registration from your vehicle traded or sold (for credit, if applicable).
If you have moved here from out-of-state:     
  • Out-of-state registration.
  • Title (1995 and NEWER) or name and address of lien holder if still making payments.
  • Proof of Insurance.

Original signatures of the purchaser are required is required in order to complete a new car registration


What do I need to bring to re-register my car?

  • Current registration.
  • Proof of Insurance.
  • Current mileage.
  • You can re-register your car in person or send an agent with the appropriate documents/information.
  • You can also re-register your car on line at Rapid Renewal (you will need your current registration,      proof of insurance and your checkbook).

How do I license my dog?

  • Bring the most recent rabies certificate from the Veterinarian. This must include the rabies tag number and the date of expiration.
  • Bring a document that states whether or not the dog is spayed/neutered.
  • It is $6.00 for spayed/neutered dogs and $11.00 for those that are not.
  • All dog licenses are based on the calendar year. If you do not license your dog by December 31st, you can do so by the end of January without penalty.  After January 31, a late fee of $25.00 goes into effect with NO exceptions.

What do I need to bring to get a Sporting License? (hunting, fishing, etc.)

  • The State of Maine offers the sale of Sporting licenses and Recreational Vehicle registrations through their  website, Inland Fisheries & Wildlife.
  • We sell sporting licenses to Belgrade residents and non residents.
  • If applying for your first sporting license please provide a hunting and/or archery license from your previous place of residence or proof that you have completed a Hunter Safety and/or an Archery class.

What do I need to bring to register a Recreational Vehicle? (boat, snowmobile, ATV)?

  • A bill of sale is the only document that is required to register a recreational vehicle.
  • If you want to renew your current recreational vehicle registration, it is helpful for you to bring your most recent registration.

How do I obtain a license to be married in the State of Maine?

  • If only one of the applicants is a resident of Maine, you must apply in the Maine town/city where the Maine resident lives. If both applicants reside in Maine, but in separate town/city, you can apply at either Clerk's office.
  • If you are both residents of another state, you may apply for a marriage license in any Clerk's office within the state.
  • If you have been previously married you must provide a copy of the divorce decree.  If you are a         widow/widower you must provide a copy of the death certificate.
  • Cost for a marriage license is $40.00+

Fees
Motor Vehicle:

Duplicate MV Registration..................................................................................................................................$3.00


MV Duplicate Stickers...............................................................................................................(single sticker) $0.25

                                                                                                                                     (one set double stickers) $0.50


Transit Plate......................................................................................................................................(one way) $13.00

                                                                                                                                                        (round trip) $26.00

                                                                                                                                          

Replacement Plate.....................................................................................................................................(set) $11.00

                                                                                                                        (trailer/single replacement plate) $5.50


Booster Permits are based on the weight and the length of time of the booster


Title....................................................................................................................................................................$33.00

                                                                                                                                                       (rush order) $43.00

                                                                                                                                    

Sales Tax (private sales-based on what you paid)................................................................................................5.5%


MV Plate Fees

Standard Plate....................................................................................................................................................$35.00

Antique Plate (every year).................................................................................................................................$15.00


Commercial Plates & Motor Homes depend on the registered weight-starts at $35.00 and goes up


Utility Trailer Plates

Under 2000 lbs........................................................................................................................................(1 yr) $13.50 

                                                                                                                                                               (2 yrs) $25.00


Over 2000 lbs...........................................................................................................................................(1 yr) $23.00

                                                                                                                                                                (2 yrs) $42.00

Trailers that you tow behind AND can live in is based on the registered weight


*Any utility trailers that weigh OVER 3000 lbs requires a title*


Motorcycle.........................................................................................................................................................$21.00

Moped..................................................................................................................................................................$9.00


All other plate fees listed below are in addition to the standard $35.00 fee charged every year


Vanity Plate...................................................................................................................................................................$25.00

All other Specialty Plates................................................................................................................(first year) $20.00

                                                                                                                                              (every year after) $15.00

Dogs:

Spay/Neuter.........................................................................................................................................................$6.00

Non-Spay/Neuter...............................................................................................................................................$11.00

Late Fee (starts 02/01).......................................................................................................................................$25.00


Hunting/Fishing & Recreational Vehicles:

Hunting License................................................................................................................................(resident) $27.00

                                                                                                                                                (non-resident) $114.00 

                                                                                                                             

Junior Hunt..........................................................................................................................................(resident) $7.00

                                                                                                                                                   (non-resident) $34.00 

                                                                                                                            

Fishing License.................................................................................................................................(resident) $27.00

                                                                                                                                                   (non-resident) $64.00 

                                                                                                                             

Hunt/Fish Combo..............................................................................................................................(resident) $44.00

                                                                                                                                                   (nonresident) $149.00

Boats depend on the year, horsepower and length.


Milfoil...............................................................................................................................................(resident) $10.00

                                                                                                                                                    (non-resident) $20.00


Snowmobile.......................................................................................................................................(resident) $41.00

                                                                                                                                                   (non-resident) $89.00                                                                                                                          

ATV...................................................................................................................................................(resident) $34.00

                                                                                                                                                   (non-resident) $39.00 

Vital Records:

Marriage License...............................................................................................................................................$40.00

Certified Copies of Vital Records....................................................................................................(first copy)$15.00

                                                                        (each additional copy done same day/time of same document) $6.00

                                                                                                                                    (directly from the state) $60.00


Comments