St Raphael’s offers a curriculum which aims to meet the individual needs of the children in our care. There is a strong focus on the core areas of Religious Education (RE), English and Mathematics. The school provides many opportunities for students to achieve their learning potential with the support of a team of dedicated classroom teachers, intervention and support teachers, special needs teachers, a Reading Recovery teacher, EAL/D teacher, librarian, eLearning teacher, sport teacher, music teacher, and other specialists who support the delivery of the curriculum.

Technology is integrated through all Key Learning Areas (KLAs) and each classroom is equipped with a variety of technology including interactive whiteboards, Chromebooks, laptops and iPads.

Key Learning Areas

All curriculum subjects are taught in accordance with the National Education Authority (NESA) syllabuses and the Religious Education curriculum of the Archdiocese of Sydney. 

At present the stages of learning are:

  • Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten)
  • Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2)
  • Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4)
  • Stage 3 (Years 5 and 6)

The National Education Authority (NESA) states what must be taught in the following KLA’s:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment (HSIE) - History and Geography
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)

A link to the mandatory curriculum can be found here.

Religious Education

The Religious Education Curriculum brings together the essential components of knowledge, understanding, appreciation and celebration of our rich Catholic tradition. The Religious Education Curriculum, through the seasons of the Liturgical Year, aims to assist the students to reflect upon, make sense of, celebrate and live more deeply the mystery of Christ as revealed in each person and in relationship with others, the Church and Creation. The parish, school and parents work together to regularly practice Catholic celebrations.