Related Links

All curriculum subjects are taught in accordance with the current NSW Board of Studies syllabuses and the Religious Education curriculum of the Archdiocese of Sydney.

The four stages are:

  • Early Stage 1: Kindergarten
  • Stage 1: Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2: Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3: Years 5 and 6

The Board’s syllabuses state what must be taught in these seven Key Learning Areas (KLAs):

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • History
  • Geography 
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE).

Religious Dimension

Our Primary Religious Education curriculum enables young people to see and respond to God in their lives. Religious Education, as part of the Church's mission of evangelisation, shares in the task of spreading the Good News of Jesus Christ.

Kindergarten to Year 6 follow the Religious Education Curriculum of the Archdiocese of Sydney. With each Year level there is a student textbook, 'To Know, Worship and Love', which is designed to assist parents in supporting the Religious Education program of the school.

It is our task as Christian educators to help our students access the Word of God in the Scriptures, the Church's living tradition, and in their own lives and experience. In so doing, we prepare our students to celebrate and respond to God's Word in their lives.

We view liturgy as an integral part of school life. Whole-school Masses and liturgies are held each term. Parents are always welcome to share with us in these celebrations.

Sacramental Programs

Students at St Mary’s Star of the Sea receive three Sacraments during their Primary years. The sacramental programs are parish-based and are supported by the classroom teachers and parents. In Year 2, students make their first Reconciliation; in Year 3 students receive their First Holy Communion and in Year 6 they receive Confirmation. Information sessions are conducted for parents about each of the Sacraments. Parents are notified about these dates through the newsletter and Parish Bulletin.