About Us

Georges Hall has a long-established Catholic community. For many years it was part of Bankstown parish and then part of Berala, Sefton and Bass Hill parishes in turn. A church/hall was erected in 1959 and served as a Mass centre. In 1973 the separate parishes of Georges Hall was formed, with Fr John O’Keefe as its first Parish Priest. He and his parents then sought to provide a parish primary school in the growing suburb.

The first two stages of the school were built in 1978 and 1980, at a total cost of $400,000. It was officially opened on 25 March 1979 by the Premier, Neville Wran, and blessed by the Archbishop, Sir James Cardinal Freeman.

Until 1985 it was known as Queen of Heaven Catholic School. The first pupils were 40 boys and 59 girls in Kindergarten, Year 1 and Year 2. The school was to develop from there into a full primary school, co-educational from Kindergarten to Year 6. The first staff was Sr Edwardine O’Connell (Principal) and a small group of lay teachers. 

Various additions and improvements were made subsequently. Classrooms were added and the schools facilities expanded within the beautiful surroundings. When a new parish church was built in 1983, the old church was converted into a school library. This in turn was replaced in 1990 with the new O’Keefe Library. 

In 1992 the Emmaus Room was opened, providing a multi-purpose area for parish and school. The school Administration Building was extended in 1998 and was blessed and opened by Bishop David Cremin on 20 June 1999.

In recent years funding from the Federal Government BER program and the Archidiocese have transformed St Mary’s into a fully equipped 2-stream-coeducational primary school that caters for over 380 students. On June 10 2011, Cardinal George Pell officially blessed and opened our new co-operative learning spaces as well as the Kevin “Chevy” Spencer Hall


Sr Edwardine O’Connell, rs: 1979-1980

Mr Anthony Logue: 1981-1987

Mr Bill Nolan: 1988-1990

Mrs Anne McAuley (Acting): 1991

Mr Bill Nolan: 1992-1996

Ms Mary Nixon: 1997-2001

Mrs Karen Richards: 2002-2007

Mr Steven Lemos: 2008- 2014
Mrs Maureen Jones: 2015-2017
Mrs Monica Palmer: 2018 - present