Parents‎ > ‎

Learning and Teaching

The School Curriculum

The School Curriculum comprises of Religious Education and six other areas set down by the Board of Studies and Sydney Catholic Schools. The subjects are known  as  'Key Learning Areas' or KLAs.

Religious Education

Sacramental programs are parish/school/family based and implemented under the guidance and direction of the Parish Priest. In the Archdiocese of Sydney, the Religious Education Curriculum is supported by the text 'To Know Worship and Love'. It focuses on the children’s growth in religious knowledge, skills, values and attitudes over the years of primary schooling.

The teachers’ Religious Education programmes are based on this curriculum document. Central to it are the children's’ lived experiences, scripture, the doctrines and traditions of the church, and celebration through prayer, the Eucharist, and other forms of worship.

The Religious Education Curriculum itself is divided into seven sections, one for each year of primary schooling. Every year has a major theme and includes eight basic units which provide a framework for classroom work. There are also parent booklets to help parents participate in the Religious Education of their children, and Religious Education textbooks for each of the seven grades.


This involves developing the skills needed to read widely with understanding and enjoyment; to spell accurately; to write grammatically in a variety of forms; to understand the function of language; to listen and communicate effectively in a variety of situations; and to critically assess good literature.


There have been many changes in the way Mathematics has been taught over the years. Many parents remember it as learning to do sums—basic calculations involving addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. Mathematics still involves calculation, but it also calls for measuring, estimating, manipulating objects, putting things in order, classifying, and interpreting results. These are examples of mathematical skills that help young learners to 'think mathematically' about their world.

Science & Technology

Science is an integral parts of the modern world in which changes occur at unprecedented rates. By providing learning experiences in Science & Technology, we aim to help empower our students to understand their world and deal with the changes and challenges of modern society. This will assist in their personal, social and spiritual growth, and enable them to be agents of change where appropriate.


This subject will focus on personal and family histories, Australian history, ancient and modern world history. There is an emphasis on change and continuity, cause and effect and empathetic understanding.


The focus of the Geography syllabus is on people, places and the environment. There is an emphasis on place and sustainability.

Creative Arts

The Creative Arts K–6 syllabus forms part of the K–12 continuum, providing foundational learning in the art forms that continue in the Year 7–12 subjects of Visual Arts, Music, Drama and Dance. Students engage in learning experiences in visual arts, music, drama and dance as part of their natural growth and development. Regular learning experiences that are thoughtfully planned, sequenced and related are essential for developing students’ skills, knowledge and understanding within the art forms. They also contribute to the development of the whole child.

Personal Development, Health & Physical Education

This involves learning to develop an active, healthy lifestyle; developing skills in interpersonal relationships and positive values, attitudes and beliefs; and participating in regular physical activity.