Religious Education

The religious dimension of the Catholic school includes the Religious Education curriculum, the liturgical, sacramental and prayer life of the school, and opportunities for students to engage in activities that build Christian community and reach out to those in need. These belong to the life of the whole school. All Key Learning Areas, including Religious Education, should share time for these elements proportionally.

The allocated time for Religious Education is 2.5 hours per week for K-2 and 3 hours per week for Years 3-6.

The Primary Religious Education curriculum aims to assist students to make sense of life in the light of God's revelation. Teachers assist children to access the Word of God in Scriptures, the Church's living Tradition, and in their own lives and experience. In this way they prepare students to celebrate and respond to God's Word in their living. Further details about the Religious Education Program can be found at RE Online that may be visited by clicking here.


Catholic primary schools in Sydney, like all Australian schools, are accountable to governments and their local communities for meeting the teaching and learning requirements of the State. Sydney Catholic primary schools are required to have an educational program based on, and taught in accordance with, the Board of Studies Syllabuses for the six Key Learning Areas (KLAs) of primary education.

The six Key Learning Areas are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science & Technology
  • Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE)
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)

As well as the Board of Studies syllabuses the Primary Religious Education Curriculum is used for planning for teaching and learning in Catholic primary schools in the Archdiocese of Sydney.