St Joachim’s provides an exciting and contemporary Curriculum, committed to proficiency in English and Mathematics. The School is well equipped in library, classroom and technology resources. The school’s curriculum and planning provides a comprehensive array of educational activities that cater for the needs of individual students.

A Special Education teacher, specialist English teachers, Music and Sports teachers and Teacher Aides all help cater to the individual needs of students. A Gifted & Talented program also operates throughout the year. The class programs, school celebrations and interactions between all members of the school community reflect the spiritual life of the school.

The Board of Studies NSW sets the learning requirements for each stage of primary school. The four stages are:

  • Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten)
  • Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2)
  • Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4)
  • Stage 3 (Years 5 and 6)

The Board’s syllabuses state what must be taught in these six Key Learning Areas (KLAs):

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment (HSIE)
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)

Religious Education

Religious Education at St Joachim’s is an integral part of the school’s curriculum. The staff at St Joachim’s understand that a child’s religious education is fostered by the partnership of home, parish and school.  It is with this understanding that we build and develop the faith dimension of the children that have been entrusted to us. On entering our school, the children join a community of learners where the values of Jesus are taught and lived and Mary MacKillop’s Charism is an integral part of our liturgies and prayer life.

The Religious Education Curriculum K-6 and student texts, To Know Worship and Love, are used at St Joachim’s.

Sacramental Program

The Sacramental Program at the school is Parish based, however Sacramental units are taught in the classroom to co-incide with the program. The Sacrament of Reconciliation is received from Year Two, The Sacrament of Eucharist is received from Year Three and The Sacrament of Confirmation is received in Year Six yearly.