Key Learning Areas

Catholic primary schools in Sydney, like all Australian schools, are accountable to governments and their local communities for meeting the teaching and learning requirements of the State. Sydney Catholic primary schools are required to have an educational program based on, and taught in accordance with, the Board of Studies Syllabuses for the six Key Learning Areas (KLAs) of primary education.

The six Key Learning Areas are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science & Technology
  • Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE)
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)

As well as the Board of Studies syllabuses the Primary Religious Education Curriculum is used for planning for teaching and learning in Catholic primary schools in the Archdiocese of Sydney.

Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum sets consistent high standards for what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It prepares Australia’s next generation for the future and lays the building blocks for generations to come.

The Australian Curriculum focuses on learning area content and achievement standards that describe what students will learn and teachers will teach. It also gives attention to seven general capabilities that are important for life and work in the 21st century and to three issues identified in the Melbourne Declaration as needing more attention than they have received in curricula to date. The general capabilities and the cross-curriculum priorities are not added as additional subjects. They are dealt with, where relevant, through the learning area content on which the curriculum is built.


Students develop their language skills through activities involving speaking and listening, reading and writing, and viewing and representing. They learn about language and literature through working with a wide range of print, spoken, visual, media, multimedia and digital texts. Students experience a range of texts, including Australian works, multiculturalism, Aboriginality and Australian identity, and Asian perspectives.

 The syllabus is organised into three content strands with the Working Mathematically components  integrated into these strands:
 • Number & Algebra
 • Statistics & Probability 
 • Measurement & Geometry
Human Society and Its Environment 

In Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE) students learn about history, geography, civics and citizenship. They investigate their personal and community identity, and gain an understanding of their nation and its place in the world. They learn to participate effectively in maintaining and improving the quality of their society and environment.

There are four strands:
• Change and Continuity
• Cultures
• Environments
                           • Social Systems and Structures
Personal Development, Health and Physical Education 

Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE) develops the knowledge, skills and attitudes students need to lead healthy, active and fulfilling lives. Students learn about the importance of good food and regular exercise. They learn how bodies grow and change over time. They learn skills to play individual and team sports, and the values of sportsmanship and teamwork.


  Science and Technology 

  Science and Technology develops students’ skills in thinking, investigating and problem­ solving. It     gives them knowledge and skills in scientific investigation, design and applied technology. This         subject builds on the curiosity children have about their natural and built environments.