Our School's History

St Finbar's School, Sans Souci was established in 1926 when Sans Souci was still a part of the parish of Kogarah. Fr John Driscoll, parish priest of Kogarah, arranged for the Sisters of St Joseph, who had a convent and school in Kogarah, to open this second school in the parish. The first Principal was Sr Elaine Ryan rsj. The sisters travelled to the school each day on the steam tram, and at first used St Finbar's Church as the schoolroom. Original enrolments are not known, but the Catholic Directory for 1930 records 135 children. Girls were taught from Kindergarten to Sixth class and boys from kindergarten to Third Class, with the older boys attending the Brothers' schools.

In 1936, the Sisters of Mercy (Wilcannia-Forbes Congregation) established a convent at Sans Souci and took over the running of the school. The school continued to be situated in the Church, and schooling was carried out Monday to Friday, with Mass held each Sunday in this building until the new church was opened in 1959. The school had 188 pupils in 1960, and were taught by just four Sisters, so class sizes were quite large. The first Mercy Sister Principal was Sr Mary Claver rsm. Enrolment reached 234 in 1969.

As government funding became available from the late 1960s, more teachers were employed. The Sisters of Mercy withdrew from the leadership of the school in December 1984, with the last Mercy Sister Principal being Sr Veronica O'Neill rsm, after which, the CEO, Sydney then appointed the first lay principal, Mrs Evelyn Graves.

Today, the school is staffed entirely by lay teachers and principal.