The school provides an educational program based on, and taught in accordance with the Board of Studies syllabuses for primary education. The Key Learning Areas (KLAs) are English, Mathematics, Science and Technology, Human Society and its Environment, Creative Arts, and Personal Development, Health and Physical Education.

St Declan's follows the Archdiocesan Religious Education Curriculum and uses the student textbooks, 'To Know, Worship and Love'.

The Curriculum includes four stages:

  • Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten)
  • Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2)
  • Stage 2 (Year 3 and 4)
  • Stage 3 (Years 5 and 6)

Staff members at the school are committed to continuous improvement of teaching and learning in all facets of the school curriculum. Particular features of the school curriculum include:

  • a school-wide pedagogy that is a framework of shared values to inform teaching and learning practice
  • Language Features of Text Types (LFTT): the aim of this program is to improve student outcomes by developing teachers' knowledge, skills and practice in the teaching of listening, talking and writing and to ensure the implementation of a whole school approach to the teaching of writing
  • a whole-school approach to literacy and numeracy to ensure consistency and a shared vision by all staff. This is facilitated by the Literacy and Numeracy Teams K-6
  • classes are equipped with interactive boards, projectors and computers to assist in the development of eLearning
  • extra-curricular opportunities include band, choir, sport and debating.