St Charles’ offers a contemporary curriculum. Students from Kindergarten to Year 6 are engaged in seven Key Learning Areas (KLAs).

Key Learning Areas

  • Religious Education including the Sacraments of Reconciliation, Eucharist and Confirmation - School Based Programs
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • History
  • Geography
  • Science and Technology
  • Creative and Practical Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education 

For more information on the KLAs and the NSW curriculum we follow, visit the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) Website.

Reading Recovery


  • Tri Skills specialist sports program 2 days a week
  • The St Charles’ Netball Club
  • The St Charles’ Rugby League Football Club

Religious Education Curriculum

The Religious life of the school is also reflected in our everyday relationships and enhanced and strengthened by participation on the prayer life and by involvement in liturgies including Masses


  • Teacher/Librarian
  • Fully equipped computerised library 


  • Chromebooks, iPads and Personal Computer Technologies

Visual Art

  • A specialist visual art teacher 2.5 days a week


  • A specialist music teacher 2.5 days a week
  • School Choir

Extra Curricular

  • Chess
  • Debating - Years 5 and 6
  • Netball Club
  • Football Club

Aboriginal Perspective

Each year, students from St Charles' integrate Aboriginal Perspectives across each Key Learning Area (KLA). Our senior students also travel to our sister school at St Mary's Bowraville for our annual July exchange. The following photographs offer some insights into our programs.